We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steakhouse”

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #32 of 1 294 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mouille Point, one of many special places in the Mother City where Table Mountain slopes ever gentler towards its rendezvous with the mighty Atlantic Ocean. The word ‘Mouille’, forever connected to lighthouse of the same name, stems from the French word meaning ‘anchoring ground’. With the customary exquisite cuisine and superior service that has fuelled the Hussar Grill legend for over 50 years, we could think of nowhere better to weigh anchor during a misty, autumnal Cape evening than the Hussar Grill Mouille Point. An enlightening evening of excellence awaits you, whatever the season.
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Very good steaks,burgers etc with excellent,friendly service and decent wine and a few seafood options .
My choice of chateaubriand was flamed at the table and was well cooked and tasty.

Thank recordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHuxley, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Recordable,

Thank you for coming to visit us, I am so glad you enjoyed the experience.

We love the taste and theater of the Chateaubriand, glad you did too!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tracy and Team Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1 090 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

This is the second Hussar Grill we’ve been to, that other being the one in Camps Bay.
There are many things to like: the steaks and food quality are excellent. The service is thoughtful and attentive. The Camps Bay one is just that little bit better however. Small gripes with this one were that sparkling wine was not offered by the glass and there was no venison on the menu (which you get both of at Camps Bay).

Thank TravelGuide33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHuxley, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear TravelGuide33,

Thank you for supporting our brand, we are passionate about top quality food and service. I am glad you experienced this at both our grill rooms.

Thank you for the feedback about the sparkling wine on offer, we are working on a system to the product fresh in Mouille Point as we do not have lots of requests for a glass of bubbles.

Our game meat on offer is currently Kudu, Eiland, Gemsbok, Wildebees and Impala. We also serve a selection of three on a skewer and call it a Trio of Game kebab (which Camps Bay does not offer!)

My apologies if you were not told that, it is on our black board which the service ambassadors should have explained.

We do hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tracy and Team Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Enjoyable meal. Good quality steaks cooked as ordered with nice sides. Good service and extensive wine list.

Thank KenHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHuxley, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Good day KenHy,

Thank you for coming to visit our grill room, we loved having you.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and recommend us to others.

We look forward to the next time we see you.

Kind regards,
Tracy and Team Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent steackhouse with friendly service. Nice location, wine list ok.
They always try to accomodate your requirements. Great value for money.

Thank YanTheMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHuxley, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear YanTheMan2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review our grill room, we so appreciate you choosing us.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the experience and found our service to be friendly and accommodating.

We also love our location and the sunsets are amazing, but we can't take credit for that.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
Tracy and Team Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We had an early dinner here last week, our 3rd visit, and it didn't dissapoint. Service was fast and efficient and the food was outstanding. Quality, fresh, tasty and decent size portions all a highlight.
This is by far one of the best steak houses in cape town. Must visit.

Thank PaddySA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyHuxley, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear PaddySA1000,

Thank you for visiting our grill room, we do appreciate your support.

Thank you for the kind words, I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience.

We have high standards we set for ourselves and I am so glad that comes across.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next steak craving.
Kind regards,
Tracy and Team Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing