We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled to Perfection”

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #40 of 1 228 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I had a superb dining experience at the Hussar Grill. The steak was cooked magnificently, with a perfect, juicy-pink center, and the sauce and sides were to die for. The atmosphere was lovely, the service impeccable, and the setting rather romantic for a grill-house. I would recommend this spot for families, couples and..well pretty much anyone who's looking to devour a fat steak!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your review of our Mouille Point grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the food and atmosphere, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1 029 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018

What a treat if you like good sreak or filet. This plasce specializes in meat and it is worth having dinner there. The interior is nice, waiters are friendly and smilimg, prices are very moderate considering the sizes and quality of the meals. On thing I have to say, make sure when ordering to always say “minus” like rare minus then the food is rear. But, i can reccomend this place and it is nicely located close to Atlantic and has a terracce.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Rita T,

Thank yo for your review, we so enjoyed serving you. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience and thank you for sharing it.

We do look forward to seeing you again to soak up the gorgeous view, enjoy our meat selections and be served by my crew.

Thank you for the great feedback.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Wonderful evening with good friends and Food.

Super choice of steaks from a variety of beasts including zebra, Kudu, and several types of deer.

The cuts of steak are amazing including a fillet on the bone and a 1kg T.Bone. I had the chicken livers and rib eye steak, very nice


The wine and cocktail list is extensive and service is first class.
They also have a wide choice of craft beers and ciders.
You have to try there signature warm chocolate martini, amazing see below.”

A great evening with super surrounding and I will be returning

Thank stuartr975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Dear Stuart975,

Thank you for reviewing our steak houses, by the looks of your pictures, you visited our Rondebosch branch.

I shall forward the feedback to them, I am so glad you had a good experience.

Thank you for supporting the brand, if you want the same quality food and service but with a view of the ocean, then we look forward to seeing you at our Mouille Point branch.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Very nice dinner and great wait staff! I had the traditional boerewors followed by the kingklip fish main. Both were very nicely cooked and flavorful. Other guests in our party had the calamari, chicken livers and filet as a main and all said how well it was cooked! Definitely recommend this restaurant while you are in Cape Town!

Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Lauren,

Thank you for your review of our Mouille Point grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the food and service, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Try the grilled lamb cutlets :) :) :) :) Best meat I’ve ever tasted. Great selection of excellent wine at a very reasonable price. Overall fantastic experience!! If you love excellent grilled meat and excellent wine, look no further!!

Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Christian B,

Thank you for the amazing review! Gosh and all the smiles! We love it.

Thank you for the recommendation, we are passionate about meat and I am glad that this comes through.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing