We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star steak! ”

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #37 of 1 236 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place..great steak perfectly cooked, amazing chocolate fondant also perfectly cooked with a great selection of wine.

We had such a good meal here and would highly recommend it!

Staff were excellent and we were well looked after with our 2 children (8 and 13) we loved it and coming from the UK the bill was a pleasant surprise!

Thank Edinburghtwoplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Edinburghtwoplusone,

What an amazing review!

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, it's always great to get such good feedback.

I am so glad you enjoyed your experience and the food.

Thank you for the kind recommendation.

We do hope to see you again while in our beautiful city.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 1 033 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We visited here on 30th Dec for dinner and it was amazing! Despite a full house, service was really quick and our food was delish.

I ordered the chateaubriand medium rare which was incredibly tender and hubby ordered the 400g rib eye. This was huge! He couldn't finish it but it was super tasty as well.

The butternut squash side was heavenly - however the creamed spinach was surprisingly bland. Creamed spinach is usually my fave but whatever recipe being used at Hussar grille is not the most enticing. However this was a minor setback as everything else was delightful.

We ordered the chocolate fondant and that was amazing! Please make sure you save some belly space for this :) loved it!

Definitely worth dining here if visiting Capetown! Pleasant dinner.

Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Margaret O,

Thank you so much for your kind words and honest feedback.

I will definitely look into our spinach issues. Our intention is to serve tasty food and I am so sorry if the spinach was bland. We have the same 'Gogo' (meaning Granny in Xhosa) who has been cooking up the butternut and spinach for nearly ten years. Sounds like she forgot to put some salt in it.

Please let me know when you next dine with us so that we can express our gratitude with our delicious vodka martini's.

We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Service, food, ambience all superb - will definitely be back ! The only thing we could think of that wasn't 5 star was the food presentation - very plain indeed, but it was a great night out and we would recommend it to anybody

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Binty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Binty12,

Thank you for coming to visit us, I am so glad you like our spot!

Our food presentation is very plain, it hasn't changed in years. We are not about fussy plates and outlandish splashes. Just real food, tasty sides and we are all about the meat. Which is the center of attention.

Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Seriously delicious food! Our family of 16 ate here and everyone - from the super meat eaters to the vegetarians - LOVED it! Everything was amazing. The kudu, the fillet, the wildebeest, the desserts, the sides, etc. all was great. The wait staff were friendly as well! I’d come back any time and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Thank Dfcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Dfcool,

Wow, I am so glad you guys had such a good experience. It's always a bit more difficult to serve and keep such a large table happy but it seems that we achieved just that on this occasion.

Thank you for spending your special night with us and your lovely feedback.

I am so glad that everyone enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. Thank you for further recommendations, we look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Made our obligatory visit to Hussar at Mouille Point whilst on holiday in Cape Town and as always had two fantastic visits. The staff as usual, friendly and helpful, great sunset view and the Steak Madagascar fantastic.
Thanks everyone, keep up the reputation.

Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Janet B,

Thank you for your visit and dedication to our brand, we so love seeing our regulars.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your experiences and will en devour to uphold the standard that you have come to expect from us.

We look forward to the next time you are in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Tracy Huxley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing