We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #26 of 1 207 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

It's great to go here as they do treat regulars, not regularly but specially. The staff recognize you and greats you warmly. Ashley, the manager always has a smile and knows your preferences. They have the best beef ribs in the world! Regards to the staff and thanks for making my birthday dinner special.

Thank StevenDelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hi Mr DeLitt,

Thanks so much for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed your birthday! Always a pleasure to see you and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2016

Put it this way, if you want a good steak in Cape Town, you need to go hear. So good we returned within a few days. We ordered the fillet on the bone, it was beautifully cooked and was honestly one of the best steaks I've had in a while. Would highly recommend this place. Worth noting you will definitely need to book at the restaurant in Camps Bay is quite warm so dress accordingly. Service very good and food excellent

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristopherSecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Dear Christopher S,

Thank you so much for visiting and rating The Hussar Grill Mouille Point. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another perfectly prepared fillet!

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We decided that we wanted to try one more amazing Cape Town steak before the end of our trip, but found ourselves spoilt for choice on where to go. We eventually chose Hussar Grill on the strength of the reviews on here, and we're so glad we did. The whole experience was superb, helped by the fact that the restaurant was buzzing with locals throughout (and this was 9pm on a Sunday evening!). We had a chateaubriand and a Kudu steak for our mains, and both were absolutely brilliant - cooked to perfection, with complimentary chips, creamed spinach and sauce on the side. We also shared a lovely bottle of red wine (Groote Post, I think) and finished the meal with a chocolate martini. Which was also brilliant! The bill was almost embarrassing, it would have been a bargain almost regardless of the food. For a meal of that quality though, we almost felt like we were robbing the place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IanandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear IanandBeth,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of our Mouille Point grillroom. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the best steak I've eaten in Cape Town yesterday. Visited with 5 others and everyone had a great meal. The staff were great always on hand to ensure were enjoying the food.

2  Thank Chris02062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Dear Chris02062014,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Hussar Grill Mouille Point. We are delighted to know that our commitment to excellent service and quality food is evident. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hussar Grill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Arrogance unsurpassed
The description of the Ice Cream Cake is a downright lie.
Steaks were very high quality and was the choice of my 4 guests and myself.
When questioned about the iniquitous description of the dessert Ice Cream Cake the server became so aggressive and self righteous that one my guests gaped in amazement. The manageress was even worse
Established 1964 by whom may I ask ?
Who owns this restaurant now ? The feeling was that this is now a business first and foremost and corners are being cut. I did not detect any passion for for the food business here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 871edieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Dear 871edieh,

We are extremely concerned to read about your experience as service is most certainly right at the top of our priority list. Could you kindly take a moment to complete the contact form on our website so that we may get in touch to find out more and address your concerns.

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing