We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse apartment with excellent sea view and closeness to the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houghton View 13 Apartments
Ranked #93 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The rent is high but this self-catered three bedroom apartment gives good value for the money.
All bedrooms face the sea. There are two bathrooms and one toilet. The kitchen is spacious and open, though a bit scarcely equipped with utensils. It contains a dish washer as well as a washing machine.
The living room has a stereo, a projector screen and a set of satellite channels (including movie channels). The spacious terrace runs along the full lenght of the apartment and has doors to all the bedrooms. There is also big gas grill.
The apartment has its own pool, which lies on a patio beside the building. Around it is a pretty big pool deck, in case you don't feel the terrace is enough.
We can highly recomment this accomodation.

Room Tip: Self-catered apartment with big screen TV and all bed rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017

First off the view is amazing, sunsets are incredible. The cleaning ladies were lovely and a joy to be around. The place looks and sounds great but there were many annoying issues for our 4 day stay.
The internet didn't work for 75% of the time we were there - very frustrating because it was Christmas.
The shower leaks under the door and floods the bathroom. The roof outside also leaked after a storm which made the tiles out on the roof top very slippery and dangerous.
The spa was not working for 3 of our 4 days which was so disappointing, what made it worse was we were lied to and were told the electricition was on his way but 'stuck in traffic' which was a lie because he didn't show up for another 2 days!
Then there was little things like we had to call/text the manager for coffee pods every morning and get him to fix the TV twice - this cost us money in international calls/texts.
But the worst thing is I left my phone there on our last day and we have asked via phone calls, texts and emails for it to be courier to us at a cost to us and they have now have stopped replying to emails and calls. Disappointing for the amount of money we paid. It's been 2 weeks and no reply about where my phone is. You can find much better accommodation in Camps Bay!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

From the moment you park up in your own private garage to the moment you leave, this place is breathtaking.

We stayed in the Penthouse which was luxurious, comfortable and the large terrace gave superb views. Bathroom was excellent with some luxurious products offered as well.

Kitchen was also well equipped.

It was annoying that the Broadband wasn't available for all 3 nights whilst we were there and there was no alternative offered either which was actually very frustrating. However, the cleaner doing all our laundry for us was very welcome and saved us a lot of time/effort when we got home.

One thing that I think would help the apartment, would be a direct line to the Manager/Assistance as it should be recognised that not everyone wants to use their mobiles when abroad as it can prove very costly.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonView, Manager at Houghton View 13 Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear Andy P.

Thank you so much for your review.

I am delighted that your overall stay was spectacular, however I would like to express my sincere apology for the problem we had with the wifi during your stay. I am so glad that this issue have been sorted out, we actually established that the modem had to be replaced. I really hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards'

Calvin Westcott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We recently came back from Cape Town after spending 6 nights in the penthouse suite Aug 17th onward at this property. We loved Cape Town and our experience was made a lot more memorable by our stay at this lovely property. Thanks to the great service and beautiful rooms that Houghton View had to offer. The penthouse suite has all you can wish for from views of the oceans to views of table mountain range. We would love to get up every morning to these views and the excellent breakfast prepared for us by Charl and his team. A specially call out for Charl (the assistant manager) who went above and beyond to make this a great trip for us - right from a personal touch to conversations, packing lunch for our kids to taking care of our jacuzzi etc. Thanks and we look forward to spending time at your property when we are back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonView, Manager at Houghton View 13 Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear NewEnglandguys.

It is with awe that I am reading your spectacular review.

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with is and that Charl was able to look after you as well as he did.

We truly strive to meet and exceed our guest's every expectation and it really showed during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Calvin Westcott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Such an amazing place I went there with my family for couple of nights and man we loved it spacious rooms and one hell of a view and amazing weather, it was much more than what I expected. Staff were lovely and helpful
I really loved the place and we felt sorry that we had to leave . For sure we want to visit again and I would recommend it to any one

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Abdullah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonView, Manager at Houghton View 13 Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Abdullah S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a awesome review regarding your recent stay with us!

I am blown away by your positive comments and I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Calvin Westcott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
4,9 km away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
4,2 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#72 of 112 in Cape Town Central
280 reviews
5,2 km away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#67 of 112 in Cape Town Central
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,3 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
1,2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
6 km away
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#70 of 112 in Cape Town Central
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houghton View 13 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houghton View 13 Apartments

Address: 13 Houghton Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 150 - R 6 900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houghton View 13 Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houghton View 13 is a wonderful combination of two large and luxurious apartments. The Penthouse Apartment Suite and a 3 Bedroom Family Executive Suites. Giving guests the option of reserving either of the 2 luxurious options individually or an option of booking both apartments together , thus creating a magnificent 5 bedroomed villa experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing