We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late ribeye lunch in Camps Bay”

The Butcher Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Description: Located along the world renowned sunset strip of Camps Bay, The Butcher Restaurant offers local premium quality steak and seafood. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: Located along the world renowned sunset strip of Camps Bay, The Butcher Restaurant offers local premium quality steak and seafood. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Very good steak and salad, will be back. Can't beat the location, right on the beach and next to the shopping / club / restaurant strip.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Geppetto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Hi Geppetto88
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are so happy that we could make your dining experience a favorable one. Looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards,
The Butcher Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was so clean and had nice atmosphere. Great foods and service. Stuffs were also so friendly.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank SohretSevdaAltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Hi Sohret A
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are so happy that we could make your dining experience a favorable one. Looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards,
The Butcher Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

we love it,the food is great and the service is very good! make sure you order table before you coming on weekends

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank dana_israel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Hi dana_israel_12
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are so happy that we could make your dining experience a favorable one. Looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards,
The Butcher Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Sirlloin rejected as tough as boots. Replaced by fillet which was edible but lacking in flavor. cited 30 mins for food to arrive whilst place was 80 % empty.

Maybe I expect too much ...but this place just was not worth visiting.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 362nigeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at The Butcher restaurant. We are saddened to know that we were unable to meet your expectations and that your experience left such a bad impression.
Your review of our establishment has been noted and taken to consideration. we will do our best to improve on the points you have mentioned.
The Butcher Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Husband ordered lamb shanks which he enjoyed. I ordered the 320gm fillet, BBQ and ordered bernaise sauce to go with it. I requested the steak to be medium rare but when I cut into the steak it was rare. I pointed this out to the waitress and she took my plate away. When she returned not much later, the steak had reduced significantly and had been cooked through. They had obviously decided the quickest way to further cook the steak was to microwave and quickly reseal the steak on the BBQ. Unfortunately it was inedible, tough and chewy. Waitress didn't ask why I hadn't eaten the steak when she took it away. Disappointing meal for something I was really looking forward to.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank happytraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja_Tosh, General Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Hi Vicki
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our restaurant. I am sorry that it did not live up to your expectations, and will be taking up your concerns with the relevant department and management to ensure that these type of issues do not arise again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butcher Restaurant also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Butcher Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing