We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a view”
Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Worried when we were seated as we were the only two in the restaurant but “junior” tried to set our doubts at ease and we were so glad he did... the food was amazing and all the different dishes exquisite...
The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean too...
Definitely recommend this place ...

Thank Kalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2018

Hi there Kalia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed exquisite dishes.

We do hope to serve you again soon at our Del Mar Camps Bays.

Kindest regards,
Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018

My Gorgeous Wife is very aware of my difficulty of visiting venues for the 1st time that are upstairs ... difficult to see what they are like until you are there and then uncomfortable to turn around and leave if it doesn't look any good !!
Well she was itching for Mexican and I was gasping for a beer so I disregarded my concerns and we climbed the steps to Del Mar in the hope they would not let me down.

Thrilled to say that Del Mar was everything we later investigated they promoted themselves to be ...
- Great Decor
- Great View
- Modern Mexican

At 6pm we got front row seats on the 1st floor deck over-looking beautiful Camps Bay, enjoyed ice cold Windhoek Lager and terrific South African Chenin Blanc, and some incredibly presented and absolutely delicious Mexican cuisine.

The view from from the deck was fabulous and the sunset out of this world.

It's places like this that are helping me get over the 'stairs thing'.

Don't hesitate coming here !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacksdad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2018

Hi there jacksdad100,

Thank you for taking the time to share yours and your wife's experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed an authentic Mexican experience.

We do hope to serve you again soon at our Del Mar Camps Bays.

Kindest regards,
Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I are staying in Camps Bay and we're certainly not spoilt for choice for vegetarian food but Del Mar seemed to have many options for us. Our waiter recommended some dishes for us to try. The service was great, everything was super tasty and we even tried the Mexican Cheesecake which is a must for dessert lovers.

Sadly we weren't fortunate enough to get a balcony table but the vibe inside the restaurant was nice anyway.

Thank Dane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 February 2018

Hi there Dane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your experience with us. We do hope to serve you again soon at our Del Mar Camps Bays.

Kindest regards,
Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Booked the table only 45 mins before sitting down. We had a balcony table overlooking the beach which added to the atmosphere. We shared lamb tacos, three types of salsa with guacamole, chorizo and cheese quesadilla and tuna ceviche. To some extent our choice was fuelled by the recent Rick Stein series on Mexico.

Ranking these dishes we would say, firstly the lamb, second the salsa, third the chorizo and finally the tuna. Service was good, as was the wine.

Would return, but beware you probably need to like your food hot.

Thank glennjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 February 2018

Hi there glennjones14,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed an authentic Mexican experience.

We do hope to serve you again soon at our Del Mar Camps Bays.

Kindest regards,
Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We had decided that tonight we were going to have just a main course. However, the nachos looked good on the menu but when I tried to order them the guy insisted on up selling to nachos plus. When I said no thanks he still wanted to add things, so I said forget the nachos. So just had a main each, both good and tasty. There were only a total of twelve people in the restaurant, not a good sign when most other places locally are rammed. Despite fact that the place was empty they forgot to bring the drinks we ordered, they didn’t arrive until we had started our meal. I wouldn’t rush back.

1  Thank Fairwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2018

Hi Fairwayman,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to see that you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email with a copy of your review to feedback@Bukhara.com.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Mar also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing