We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing take on Mexican food ”
Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

As native Southern Californians, my friends and I take our Mexican food very seriously. We ordered the chips and guacamole to start but the salsas were the real star. The Salsa Taqueria is a must not miss. The fajitas were perfect and the nachos with beef mince had a hint of cinnamon that made them incredible. Our waiter, Martin, was ready with great suggestions and speedy service. I highly recommend this spot for lunch or dinner - and if you're smart, go during sunset. The beach views are as amazing as the food.

Thank kelliisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku_Management, Manager at Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Kellisking,

Thank you for the stellar review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Del Mar. We hope to see you soon! Sunsets are even more amazing in the winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Nice restaurant with beautiful view and good service.
Food was a bit too spicy for us. My plate was excellent but the enchiladas of my fiancee were disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku_Management, Manager at Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Del Mar. If you do visit us again, we would be glad to make your order milder. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Although never having been to the country, and so unable to vouch for its authenticity, the food at Del Mar is certainly the best Mexican food I've ever eaten. Flavours are bold and clean, presentation is eye-catching, service attentive (thanks Martin!) and the room, with its view, a great place to be. Chicken strips marinated with chili & pineapple was both seriously tasty & wonderfully juicy, while the habanero salsa that accompanied a really good slow-cooked pork shoulder packed a serious punch. Mexican cheesecake with caramel - wow!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smcd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku_Management, Manager at Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hello Smcd1963,

Thank you for the stellar review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Del Mar. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Often when trying something outside you taste buds comfort zone, you get bad shock. It was not the case at Del Mar. Even when in doubt Lenny is a glance away to explain the dish

Thank Mtshepana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku_Management, Manager at Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for the stellar review, we are glad you enjoyed your time and the food at Del Mar. We hope to see you soon for some more tapas adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We went for the tapas style dishes. Our waiter was excellent in his recommendations. The food was great, and the service was spot on.
Its upstairs a little tucked away so has to make the extra effort to get the business. This means those that take the time to find it are well rewarded.

Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku_Management, Manager at Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hello Dave,

Thank you for the stellar review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Del Mar. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Mar also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing