We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Catriona
Surrey, United Kingdom

Stunning hotel in Camps Bay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Mar 2024via mobile
We had a 3 night stay in living hotel lion’s eye and can not fault it. Upon arrival Lwando was extremely welcoming and made every effort to get us checked into our room early.

Room was one of the most stunning we have ever stayed in. We had the Atlantic suite which was huge with amazing sea views and had exceptional amenities such as a hot tub on the balcony, Ghd hairdryer and straighteners, free bottled water throughout the day and free laundry.

Breakfast was good but the lunch we did have at the hotel we particularly enjoyed.

The location of the hotel is fantastic with a short 10 min walk (felt very safe) down to camps bay beach and promenade.

If you are wanting a modern clean hotel with great service in the camps Bay Area we would highly recommend this one and will be returning!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 638
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 638
0.5 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 042
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 042
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 227
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 462
R 7 073
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 073
3.0 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 717
R 2 500
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 500
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 552
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 096
0.4 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 801
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 745
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 922
0.9 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 368
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 727
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Living Hotel Lion's Eye
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
171
18
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
18
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantic room the penthouse guest house hot tub on the balcony amazing views honesty bar cleaning ladies cinema room key card lion's head cape town another guest table mountain some great restaurants self catering apartment bottled water spent two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Excellent accommodation in the heart of Camps Bay. Staff exceptional. Property simply amazing. It is clear that this Hotel is well managed and looked after by the staff. Thank you so much for providing is with a memorable stay! Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank atmovistac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

The shower was covered in black mould and grime and bedding with stains all over it (see photos attached), which was shocking given the glossy portrayal online. For the price we paid per night, it was utterly unacceptable. We left after just one night out of our planned four-night stay due to the disappointment. There are far better options available for less money. Don't bother staying here; you will be disappointed and it's nothing like what's advertised, with half the amenities shown in the photos being non-existent. I recommend reading the negative reviews here and on other platforms like Google, as they accurately reflect our experience. Today we commence with legal proceedings to recover our money as the 'manager' has failed to acknowledge or respond to a single email and/or issue a refund. Finally, have you ever stayed in a hotel that requires you to sign an inventory of every single item in the room? Well this place does!

Room tip: Book elsewhere, much better options available!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CraigM885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Stayed in the Penthouse. View of ocean and mountains from your private terrace is AMAZING! Penthouse is huge. The shower may give you pause because it "feels" open to outside but the windows are frosted adequately. Didn't use the jacuzzi wish I would have. Nice walk to waterfront but it is not flat. View from dining area is amazing as well

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nupey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2023

We had a wonderful stay at the Living Hotel Lion's Eye.

Our room was lovely. We stayed in the Atlantic room and had an amazing view of the sea and Camps Bay area. You could see the view from the shower and bath too which was cool. The rooms were well looked after and had good facilities.

The hotel itself was also fantastic - breakfast was great with lots of choice. There is an lovely lounge area with an honesty bar which is really nice to have and then food is available from 12 - 9. We had the Phili Cheese steak sandwich which was AMAZING. Definitely do plan to have a meal here if you can!

The trip was part of our honeymoon and the staff made us feel so special. They decorated our room and gave us some treats. It really added to our stay.

The best bit for me was the staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. Kalin in particular was so accommodating to us and really looked after us. Calvin also helped make our stay extra special. It's a small hotel so the staff really look after you well.

The hotel itself is a short walk to Camps Bay and close to the tourist hot spots so great from that perspective too. Definitely stay here if you're in the area!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jwhitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2023

Great location with outstanding ocean view, very friendly hosts, felt like at home, very helpful to guide to restaurants
Acknowledged spontaneous upgrade from standard to penthouse suite
House is very nicely decorated, spacious rooms and cleanliness top

Room tip: nice location , Camps Bay centre very close with great choice of restaurants. Safe area...
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alainbT3943ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews