We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood at affordable prices in fab location”

Ocean Basket Camps Bay
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Ocean Basket Camps Bay you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I popped in on a Saturday afternoon as a solo traveller. My waiter was very helpful and knew his menu well. I had a Greek salad, with grilled calamari and a carafe of wine. Was delicious. I didnt feel rushed and enjoyed basking in the sunshine

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goldengirluk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

After a hot day on the beach we wanted straightforward fish and chips and Ocean Basket was perfect. Great location and fab view of the setting sun from upstairs. Sitting in the window was great as you get the view but no engine fumes over your food from passing traffic.
The fish chips and calamari were all good and hit the spot. Our waitress Primrose was lovely and mixed an excellent litre of mojito. Great prices too when you don’t want to splurge too much. Thoroughly recommend for a good end to a day on the beach.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Nicely located across the beach. Good selection of local fish and seafood. Food is within the comfort zone.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T5536LHrafaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Really great to find this place, the views were wonderful and the staff were so helpful and friendly especially Henry who looked after us so well, 5 stars to him! The food he recommended family platter was fantastic and a lot of food, plus the prices were really quite reasonable compared to Europe. Really nice lunch so we recommend it, so much we went back again....and not a busker in sight either day!! You must try the grilled King prawns. Well done Henry.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Table of five for lunch, upstairs with a good view across the road to Camps Bay beach. We all had nice fish meals with chips or rice, very generous portions. However, we were assailed the whole time we were there (about 1.5 hours) by a busker/beggar "playing" (if you can call it that) a saxophone on the pavement. Why is there no law enforcement to get such "entertainers" to move along?

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Camps Bay also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing