We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large well equipped villa in good location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
PeteTheSw...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large well equipped villa in good location - could do with some refresh”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Villa Penelope is a nice, large 4 bed villa a fair way up the hill in Camps Bay. It is in a nice location at the end of a no through road butting up against the vegetation. It is comfortable and well equipped, and offered plenty of space for a group of 4 adults with two babies. The view over Camps bay is lovely, particularly at sunset.

It must be said, however, that some parts of the interior of the property could do with a refresh, particularly the kitchen. This is a nice villa. Think 1980's Miami Vice, but is (and definitely has the feel of) a holiday rental property. Quite a lot of the interior looked like it hadn't been updated for many years (think old faded pictures on the wall, some equipment that didn't work). I don't want to be too harsh on the place (it still gets 4 stars)- but we didn't really get much of a sense of luxury about the place and that was disappointing. Not having experience of other rentals in Camps Bay it's hard to say whether this was standard for the money in the area, but we had just come from a significantly cheaper place in Knysna (which I imagine would be cheaper) but which was in a different league and this probably tainted our view.

Experience with the owner was good, payment, deposit etc all easy, and having Zoe the housekeeper come in every day was a nice treat.

Note that the landlord/landlords parents live in a small apartment below the main villa. They were very nice although they did let themselves in to use the oven one day while we were out (they told us), which I thought was a little odd.

House is close to Hussar Grill restaurant which was great.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettejs...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing villa with Panoramic views.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our first time to South Africa and we loved every minute of it. The villa is large spacious and very well equipped. The views from the villa are amazing especially the sunsets. We had everything we needed and Zoe the house maid was so lovely she couldn't do enough for us. The owners Jed & Jean were lovely and very helpful with places to go and visit. We will definitely be back!!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic location - Amazing views”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Villa Penelope was exactly what the pictures looked like - if not better.
Other than the location being fantastic, the house was big enough to accommodate a large group and still have our own privacy. The house was incredibly clean and the staff that came in each day were friendly and thorough.

The house catered for everything that you might need, from a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge and even a pool room - makes for a wonderful stay for any age group.

Close to restaurants and the main street along the beach, but the sunsets from the house are truly beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PellevanH...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, great privacy and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a wonderful 5 nights in this beautiful villa. The views are spectacular and the place is very private. One the left of the villa is just nature and no neighbour can look into the garden or pool area so its completely private. The place was serviced everyday and even the laundry will be done for you (don't forget to give Zoe, the housekeeper, a good tip). Three large bedrooms and one smaller one. Two full-size bathrooms and an extra shower room with toilet on the ground floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space, privacy and cleanliness
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nad1953
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a great holiday in Camps Bay where we stayed at Villa Penelope at Funkey.
The villa is fantastic, spotlessly clean and spacious in the extreme.
The views from all rooms in the villa are breathtaking and the facilities are first class in all departments.
The owners who live adjacent to the main villa were absolutely superb and went out of their way to make our stay as perfect as it was.
We would love to return to the property again possibly in an extended family group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners, views, facilities
Liked least: Plunge pool was not heated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing