We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% will come back”
Review of Auberge du Cap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Cap
Ranked #9 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first time in Cape town was spent in this gem of a place.

I found Auberge du Cap by pure chance almost a year before our holidays and decided to contact the owners directly. Morgan replied and was really helpful with our booking.

The location is right at the top of Camps Bay (at the foot of the mountains) and offers some glorious views of the lions head, table mountain and of course the sea, but as mentioned in previous reviews the driveway is steep! If you're not in good health get a car, and this will make it a lot easier for you. We didn't mind, as it's just one compromise to get those stunning views. We didn't get a car for the first few days and booked uber a lot. It's very cheap here but works extremely well.

We stayed in the penthouse suite, which offers two floors and two balconies; one with 360 views- and wow- what a view! We watched the sunset over the sea on our last night from this balcony. The most amazing view you could imagine.
The room itself is spotless, cleaned thoroughly every day. Be prepared though, Cape Town is suffering from a water shortage at the moment, so each shower has to be under 2 minutes- this means that the lovely jacuzzi bath couldn't be used during our stay but it's all in the name of the environment!

Breakfast is always at 9 Local time, and offers a wide selection of cereal, bread, juice, yoghurt, and usually a hot option that is made fresh (scrambled eggs, quiche, fried eggs and bacon or mushrooms etc).

Mike and Morgan offered lots of help during our stay and even booked a table on our first night for us at a local pizza restaurant (Which was amazing). They will absolutely go out of their way to help their guests and have two furry helpers (their two gorgeous cats) to butter up the guests.

This place offers everything a first time (and returning!) traveller needs in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite offers the best views, and contact the hotel directly for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampsBay, Owner at Auberge du Cap, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely words! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and host you for your stay in Camps Bay!! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review - much appreciated indeed. We would be delighted to have you back again during a future visit. You are most welcome here!!! Morgan and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Clean and very comfortable room. We booked the suite and it had a private living room and a kitchen too. The bathroom was nice and big (with a bath and a shower) and very clean too. Nice staff and great breakfast. It's a little bit difficult to access the hotel (steep slope) but we drove an automatic car and it was ok. The wifi connection doesn't work at all times. We had a leak in our room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judit_withouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Our first trip to South Africa startet in this very charming Auberge du Cap.
We had booked to rooms, both with a breathtaking view and very confortable and calm and very nice decorated rooms.
The breakfeast was delicious and the owners very, very charming and helpful.
We truly recommend this place and come surly back one day !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18KIKI66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

I booked for my dad in this place, they helped him with any problem or necessity that he had and we were in touch to solve it. My dad is so happy with the service from the auberge's owner and with all the installations.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francisco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed at Auberge du Cap in the Nouveau Suite for 5 nights and it was truly excellent. The B&B is in an excellent location, being at the highest point possible (there are no properties behind it) and so the view could not be beaten. Mike and Morgan are the perfect hosts, very friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast was delicious, with a hot option everyday and plenty of other options. Overall you could not get better value for money. Additionally, Mike and Morgan kindly allowed us to have our wedding ceremony on the balcony of the Penthouse Suite and also agreed to be our witnesses! They went out of their way to make it special and it was definitely a day to remember.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ella5919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1,5 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
2,1 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
1,8 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,1 km away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0,8 km away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
561 reviews
1,9 km away
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
Sovn Experience+Lifestyle
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Cap

Address: 77 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: R1 454 - R2 569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Cap 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive and unique villa, nestled against the famous Table Mountain Nature Reserve and ruggedly beautiful Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, capturing the ultimate in sea views, spectacular natural splendor and tranquility! Magnificent heated pool, sun deck, stylish and elegantly appointed accommodation ensures superior comfort and a quality experience. TGSA 4 Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Cap Hotel Camps Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing