We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pre dinner drinks. ”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Upmarket Japanese Seafood cuisine situated in the heart of Camps Bay Beach Cape Town! We are on the second floor at the Promenade Center in Camps Bay offering fine food in modern welcoming and upmarket environment with chick atmosphere accompanied by high service standards and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay!
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed our pre dinner drinks very much. The staff were very attentive and very nice indeed. Recommended for a drink, cannot comment on the food.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and views. Friendly staff and the food is good and the cocktails tasty. However, I ordered a strawberry daiquiri and received a mango one. I then ordered the shrimp tempura and received chicken. Given that the food took an hour to get to us I decided to go with it rather than make a fuss.

Not sure my server was terribly worried that they got it wrong. I wasn’t expecting a discount or fawning over but a little apology or acknowledgement would have been welcomed.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 885pennyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Umi is on the first floor. This gives a perfect view over the awesome Camps Bay beach. We have calamari and beef burger. And for dessert the Matcha Crème Brûlée with Strawberries, sesame wafer & sorbet plus Chocolate Fondant with Green Tea ice cream & ginger crumble. All is very delicious. Thank you to our waiter Thomas for your perfect recommendations and the attentive service. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another great find on camps bay, this time on the Main Street with lovely views of the bay - food and service a delight and if you like sushi this is the place! Seafood platter also amazing and good mix of fish and meat / chicken too - ribs were great as were skewers! Platter was amazing albeit best to check daily price - the platter was sane price ad the other 3 main courses out together. Delicious meal, great night and would definitely return!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank WoodsFamilyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

‘I’ll have the tuna sashimi please’
‘Sorry, we don’t have tuna today’
‘How about the Eel nigiri?’
‘We don’t have eel today either’
‘Ok, bye’

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dutchguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing