We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi restaurant with Bay Views”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Upmarket Japanese Seafood cuisine situated in the heart of Camps Bay Beach Cape Town! We are on the second floor at the Promenade Center in Camps Bay offering fine food in modern welcoming and upmarket environment with chick atmosphere accompanied by high service standards and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another great find on camps bay, this time on the Main Street with lovely views of the bay - food and service a delight and if you like sushi this is the place! Seafood platter also amazing and good mix of fish and meat / chicken too - ribs were great as were skewers! Platter was amazing albeit best to check daily price - the platter was sane price ad the other 3 main courses out together. Delicious meal, great night and would definitely return!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank WoodsFamilyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

‘I’ll have the tuna sashimi please’
‘Sorry, we don’t have tuna today’
‘How about the Eel nigiri?’
‘We don’t have eel today either’
‘Ok, bye’

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dutchguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We came for a glass of wine and 'snack' early afternoon - great central location, 1st floor, table at front of terrace, perfect for watching beach activity and the stunning scenery across the ocean front.

Food was fresh and totally delicious, as assured by our charming and efficient waiter Andrew (a Liverpool supporter for those interested!!). The prawn tempura were the best I ever had - mid-sized whole prawns coated in the lightest, thinest of 'batter, perfectly cooked, sweet and succulent. I ate the whole bowl myself though could have ordered another if we weren't for the fact that we were going out for a dinner later! My other half ordered various sashimi which he rated as some of the best and freshest he'd eaten on our trip.

If it wasn't our last day in South Africa, we would definitely have gone back for more... and often!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star rating! Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

We arrived and had a friendly welcome. Last was our waiter and he pulled out of the stops. Explained the specials to us so great that your mouth was watering. The service was great very attentive. The arrival of the food was smooth and the fillet, pork belly and the sushi was a great treat. He definitely are a great service ambassador to Umi. Well done Last for the great service and Umi for the great food.

The sunset was a bit wet but great too :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RudolphMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star rating! Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Ended up here after a boozy day. Lovely decoration- luxury asian, blossom trees etc. Nice staff and atmosphere. We had a couple bottles of wine and after a lovely sushi starter had the full seafood platter. It had fresh lobster, langoustine, squid, large prawns etc - all was grilled in garlic butter (my wife found this a bit samey). This turned out to be our most expensive meal in SA! This was probably explained on the menu but when we checked after we were slightly disappointed by the price compared to some of the fine dining we had in the wine region which was basically half the price. Would still go back, but not order that main again!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank danr116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your complementary review of your recent visit yo Umi!

Your feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing