We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Upmarket Japanese Seafood cuisine situated in the heart of Camps Bay Beach Cape Town! We are on the second floor at the Promenade Center in Camps Bay offering fine food in modern welcoming and upmarket environment with chick atmosphere accompanied by high service standards and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and had a friendly welcome. Last was our waiter and he pulled out of the stops. Explained the specials to us so great that your mouth was watering. The service was great very attentive. The arrival of the food was smooth and the fillet, pork belly and the sushi was a great treat. He definitely are a great service ambassador to Umi. Well done Last for the great service and Umi for the great food.

The sunset was a bit wet but great too :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RudolphMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up here after a boozy day. Lovely decoration- luxury asian, blossom trees etc. Nice staff and atmosphere. We had a couple bottles of wine and after a lovely sushi starter had the full seafood platter. It had fresh lobster, langoustine, squid, large prawns etc - all was grilled in garlic butter (my wife found this a bit samey). This turned out to be our most expensive meal in SA! This was probably explained on the menu but when we checked after we were slightly disappointed by the price compared to some of the fine dining we had in the wine region which was basically half the price. Would still go back, but not order that main again!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank danr116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sushi here was gorgeous and the restaurant itself is beautifully decorated but for some reason it was strangely lacking in atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Aideen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I've been disappointed so won't be back!

Booked in advance for 10 people. Arrived at appointed time and table not ready. Restaurant fairly busy so waited. Waited so long that the manager, who said she was from the restaurant next door, came to help. She found our booking in the diary and we were eventually seated.

Sat and were given menus and sat and sat. Manager(from next door?) again came over to see if we're okay. No, we'd like to order drinks. She took our order personally and ages later our drinks arrived. Took forever to order food and no drinks topped up etc. Had to help ourselves. Food eventually arrived and was adequate. Still topping up our own glasses. By now only two tables busy in restaurant. Served the last of the wine ourselves and then hunted down the waiter for the bill. No dessert even offered. Had to get up to find someone to pay and left before 21h45.

No wonder that restaurants is empty by that time. Never again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CTownian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. Our sincere apologies that we have not met your expectation.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to marketing@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Umi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Nice environment but over-rated food. Tempura batter was greasy and heavy. Food served very fast but wine arrived only mid way through meal. With all the choice in Camps Bay we won’t be going here again. Spoke to the manager at the time but he seemed disinterested in feedback.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. Our sincere apologies that we have not met your expectation.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to marketing@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Umi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing