We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food of poorer quality”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 48 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 February 2018

It was a cold evening, and needed a warmer to enjoy the terrace; however we were told that the restaurant had only 2 warmers which were allocated to other tables. Food was awful, and please do not order the veg teriyaki... horrible oily dish. We ordere a ramen for the main course, and got sick the whole night with it. Would not recommend for dinner, or lunch, but only for snacks at most and drinks to enjoy the view.

Thank Laila44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Michellene Leo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Worst seared tuna I have ever eaten. Good service and views. Very disappointed in the average and over-priced food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank De Villiers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Michellene Leo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We went into Umi for drinks.. We ordered 4 drinks which took ages to arrive & then when they did arrive there were only 3 & we were told there was no mango for the mango daiquiri. We ordered another drink but by the time it arrived the rest of us had nearly finished ours. It’s a shame because the surroundings are lovely but the poor very slow service really lets it down.

Thank Petrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We had a birthday dinner here in December. The place looks really nice and has a lovely view.
Unfortunately the service was a let down, not very attentive and very very very slow. Eventually, when the food arrived, it was worth waiting for.
It is quite pricey in comparison to similar places in Cape Town, therefore you do expect service to be good, even in busy December....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauraanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Situated across the road from the beach, take 20 steps up to a great view of the ocean an beach whilst sipping on your favourite cocktail ... awesome.

Thank optops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing