We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Upmarket Japanese Seafood cuisine situated in the heart of Camps Bay Beach Cape Town! We are on the second floor at the Promenade Center in Camps Bay offering fine food in modern welcoming and upmarket environment with chick atmosphere accompanied by high service standards and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay!
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Seriously this was ridiculous service I am beginning to forget what the food tasted like as all I can remember is that we waited for drinks for food I didn’t have a plate all night and had to ask for cutlery more than 3 times - my main meal was wrong as I am allergic to cheese and they put Parmesan on it when I had asked them not too - when it came back everyone had finished and my fish was undercooked - the list goes on - it felt like they couldn’t cope - also it was our most expensive meal of the holiday which is hard to do In Cape Town but it was £50 per head as opposed to around £20 - I would totally never rush back - the starters we had were good but hakkisan they are not x

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Hayley7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Umi is a average Asian Restaurant in Camps Bay/ Cape Town.
It's located directly at the beach promenade.
The interiors/ furnishings are not appealing. A bit shabby. The seats are to low. The service is friendly and fast. The dishes were ok but nothing special. Cocktails from the bar not very good.
Value for money is ok. Satisfying!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank hupingzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

The sushi and food was pretty bad.
Nice environment....but good food is by far more important.
They try to make fancy food like NOBU, but it’s light years away.
The quality of food was poor.
The shrimp we ordered smelled so terrible that we had to send it back.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank flanwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

You don't come here for the food, you come here for the view. The sushi was pretty bad, although the mussels were redeeming. Still, I was happy to have a few drinks, food, and watch the sunset over the ocean.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marc U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the views, however we would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Michellene Leo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

the perfect sushi in a pleasant place at reasonable prices with good service and right beside the beach

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank dmulli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing