We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch with a view”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 49 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Want enjoy the beauty of Camps Bay with a delightful meal, head to Umi. Elevated slightly above Victoria rd to give you a great view of the beach, the scene is lively and friendly. Our server Tatenda was fantastic educating us on the preparation and detail of the meals. We chose the pork buns and grilled calamari with, of course, a pilotage. Calamari was the best I've had, grilled and seasoned to perfection. Pork buns were sticky w nicely flavored pork inside.
With a side of fries, the meal w tip was only $27 or 365 ZAR. I would definitely go. Ack here given the chance.

Thank PaulPolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience! We will be sure to share your review with Tatenda.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

Great restaurant, we actually went two nights running. The first time was grjeat and then we were told that a totally new menu was coming the next night, we had no option but to come back lol. Over the two nights we had Chicken wings in a light chilli batter (YUM) calamari (in a spicy batter), Sole, Ribs, Black cod (amazing) plus several other items.

Situated upstairs on a beach front hotel it is also a good place to view sunset.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your return visit to Umi. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The restaurant is located right across the beach so the view is beautiful. The place looks really nice and you can tell right away that is not going to be a cheap eat! It was not too expensive though and the food was really well done and tasty so I guess it was worth it.
I would recommend the place for couples but not so much for friends as the atmosphere is a bit 'dry'.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LON-ZAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Had tuna tartar with avocado and edamame, great food. Endedwith coffee and choclate fondandelar. Had a bottle of F-t B-stard which was great. Recommended.

Thank sarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and there was a decent variety especially if you are into your sushi. Good value for money too

Thank woodyGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing