We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #23 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We visited twice during our stay in Camps Bay (one lunch and one dinner) and both meals were great. I especially enjoyed the shrimp tempura. Good wine list too. The whisky bar at the rear of the restaurant was completely empty when we went. The range on offer is really good and reasonably priced however, the measures are tiny! You'd need to order a double to get a decent taste of it.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank amy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We appreciate your positive review.

We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

Kind regards,
UMI Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    113
    48
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi we've ever had”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Title says it all. Great service, delicious food and a gorgeous sea view. They even do vegetarian exceptionally well! Yum.
This will be our first choice on our return.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank hannahtakespictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the positive review.

We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

Kind regards,
UMI Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food way below par - Avoid”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I ate here and we were very disappointed. Drinks order was incorrect, wrong starter brought out.

The miso soup (starter) was way too salty and the tian of prawns very bland (I've had so much better). We both ordered the black cod (R1400 for two) for our main and it was almost inedible - way way too salty!! It was miso covered served with a mini pot of more salty miso and a drizzle of another overly salty sauce. Now don't get me wrong we like miso but was over overkill, like eating the paste straight out of a jar! No balance of flavours on any of their dishes. We were so disappointed with our starter and main that we didn't bother with dessert.

I would take my business to the gangster film sounding name fish restaurant 2 mins walk behind this place.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank M_S_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great view, average food”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Took family for dinner. Great view looking down on vibey street.

Great location for sundowners.

Efficient service.

Sushi was average. Hamburger did not impress my daughter. Wine overpriced.

If you want to eat sushi there are better alternatives - including take-away and sitting on the beach and Mezzepoli which is almost next door.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Refreshingly new!”
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We had dinner in Umi. Overlooking the beach front great position for your experience. Food really good, a very worthwhile try. Will visit again on our next visit to Camps bay

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank AlbertEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing