We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food way below par - Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food way below par - Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I ate here and we were very disappointed. Drinks order was incorrect, wrong starter brought out.

The miso soup (starter) was way too salty and the tian of prawns very bland (I've had so much better). We both ordered the black cod (R1400 for two) for our main and it was almost inedible - way way too salty!! It was miso covered served with a mini pot of more salty miso and a drizzle of another overly salty sauce. Now don't get me wrong we like miso but was over overkill, like eating the paste straight out of a jar! No balance of flavours on any of their dishes. We were so disappointed with our starter and main that we didn't bother with dessert.

I would take my business to the gangster film sounding name fish restaurant 2 mins walk behind this place.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank M_S_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    111
    47
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took family for dinner. Great view looking down on vibey street.

Great location for sundowners.

Efficient service.

Sushi was average. Hamburger did not impress my daughter. Wine overpriced.

If you want to eat sushi there are better alternatives - including take-away and sitting on the beach and Mezzepoli which is almost next door.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Refreshingly new!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner in Umi. Overlooking the beach front great position for your experience. Food really good, a very worthwhile try. Will visit again on our next visit to Camps bay

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank AlbertEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for Views and Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stopped here after watching the sunset on Camps Bay Beach. Camps Bay doesn't fail for sunsets and Umi is a nice setting to sit, chat, have a few drinks and some sushi. The restaurant is a bit confusing in layout, I think by day they have a different set up compared to the night. The waiter was very friendly. The Sushi, like most sushi in Cape Town is pleasant but nothing to write home about, good value though. Big portions. I would come back and I would recommend this place if you like atmosphere, views and good value food.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

Nice find on Camps Bay. Great food and good service. We had the potstickers to start and Teriyaki beef and chicken for mains. The beef was extremely tender and the chicken tasty, both served with sticky rice. Glad we chose here from the other places. Very reasonable to.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james595832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing