We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Views and Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for Views and Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stopped here after watching the sunset on Camps Bay Beach. Camps Bay doesn't fail for sunsets and Umi is a nice setting to sit, chat, have a few drinks and some sushi. The restaurant is a bit confusing in layout, I think by day they have a different set up compared to the night. The waiter was very friendly. The Sushi, like most sushi in Cape Town is pleasant but nothing to write home about, good value though. Big portions. I would come back and I would recommend this place if you like atmosphere, views and good value food.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    111
    47
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

Nice find on Camps Bay. Great food and good service. We had the potstickers to start and Teriyaki beef and chicken for mains. The beef was extremely tender and the chicken tasty, both served with sticky rice. Glad we chose here from the other places. Very reasonable to.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james595832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I decided to take my Wife and Daughter for Sushi @ Umi, as my visiting Cousins from Johannesburg had introduced my wife and I to Umi on there last visit to Cape Town, Food was Great that Day, as it was on this Beautiful Evening.

Our opinion was that it was the Best Sushi that we have ever Tasted, because it was so Fresh, and when eating the Flavors could be Tasted as one was chewing, that became an Experience.

The service I would say is very average and has room for improvement.

Most beautiful views and a Stunning Environment to Enjoy your meal, in a comfortable setting.

Thank You

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Steen-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level Contributor
328 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Camps bay sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a early dinner at UMI , and reserved a table overlooking the bay. What a wonderful spot to enjoy the sunset , its world class.

A relaxed atmosphere , with quality sushi options made the evening most enjoyable.

As one would expect in CT the service is friendly and a little delayed in urgency.

Great sundown and pre dinner drinks spot

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017

wonderful food - specially the sushi and the fish is very good. very good price for a great service and best quality.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank tschneider2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing