We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal of small tasting plates. Everything was delicious, hot and beautifully served. Restaurant is on the beach and had an elegant comfortable vibe. We can't say enough wonderful things about this great restaurant.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Cherylswroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    111
    47
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Service poor. Our order was forgotten. After a hour we chased our food up which had quite clearly been forgotten. We finally got our food which had been clearly rushed as was tasteless. Waiting on staff completely ignored our table. Had to wait half hour for a drink. Too top it off, they had a cheek to put a service charge on the bill.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank NicoCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Hi NicoCheshireUK,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to
michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Michellene Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food with a spectacular view ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

On a hot sunny Sunday afternoon we dined at this amazing restaurant out on the terrace overlooking Camps Bay beach. We were very pleased with our meal. I had the Pork Belly which was exactly the way I dreamed it would be. My cutlery melted through the pork belly which was succulent on the inside and crisp on the outside. This was paired with tasty shoe string fries. My husband had the lamb cutlets which to me looked absolutely delicious and I could see he really enjoyed his meal. We'll definitely be back.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Remondy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Cape Town as most know is full of really great restaurants probably more so than any other city I have visited. Every February we rent a house but not usually in Camps Bay but this year has been a little different. With only a 5 minute walk to the restaurants of Camps Bay we ended up visiting Uni on 4 occasions during 10 days. Umi seems to attract mixed reviews but I can comfortably say that we had some great meals,fantastic sushi and not once did we experience bad service and there were 10 of us. We enjoyed two lunches and two dinners absolutely no complaints, competition on 'the strip' is fierce so I'm surprised that other diners experience has not been as good as ours.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food with oriental flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017

My wife ate mainly Japanese food while mine was more European in style but with oriental spicing. Food everywhere in Camps Bay was good but Umi provided something different and very palatable.

As we had not booked we decided to have an early dinner (7pm) and were given a great table at the front of the terrace - restaurant is at first floor with a small outside terrace - with a great view over the beach and the ocean. Eat early whether you book or not to get the view.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank manupete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing