We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with a spectacular view ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food with a spectacular view ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

On a hot sunny Sunday afternoon we dined at this amazing restaurant out on the terrace overlooking Camps Bay beach. We were very pleased with our meal. I had the Pork Belly which was exactly the way I dreamed it would be. My cutlery melted through the pork belly which was succulent on the inside and crisp on the outside. This was paired with tasty shoe string fries. My husband had the lamb cutlets which to me looked absolutely delicious and I could see he really enjoyed his meal. We'll definitely be back.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Remondy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    111
    47
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Cape Town as most know is full of really great restaurants probably more so than any other city I have visited. Every February we rent a house but not usually in Camps Bay but this year has been a little different. With only a 5 minute walk to the restaurants of Camps Bay we ended up visiting Uni on 4 occasions during 10 days. Umi seems to attract mixed reviews but I can comfortably say that we had some great meals,fantastic sushi and not once did we experience bad service and there were 10 of us. We enjoyed two lunches and two dinners absolutely no complaints, competition on 'the strip' is fierce so I'm surprised that other diners experience has not been as good as ours.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food with oriental flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017

My wife ate mainly Japanese food while mine was more European in style but with oriental spicing. Food everywhere in Camps Bay was good but Umi provided something different and very palatable.

As we had not booked we decided to have an early dinner (7pm) and were given a great table at the front of the terrace - restaurant is at first floor with a small outside terrace - with a great view over the beach and the ocean. Eat early whether you book or not to get the view.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank manupete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

Most expensive meal we had in cape town. Service was pleasant but main courses let it down alongside the resident rat running around our feet and up the palm tree which the staff brushed off. We know they are around I just don't expect them to join us for dinner.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Hi Ann E,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi.

We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to
michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Kind regards,
Michellene Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Spacious restaurant on the first floor facing the setting sun.
Competent service, and despite some of the reviews all 5 of us enjoyed our food and wine. Given how much we consumed the bill came to R600 per head which I thought v reasonable.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank steadyslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing