We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Marly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marly Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at this lovely hotel celebrating my fathers 80th . Marcelle and her team looked after us very well , nothing was too much trouble .They organised all our sight seeing tours, booked tickets for us and really spoilt us. The rooms were fabulous and large, we had a mountain view room which was wonderful. The service was amazing and all the staff extremely helpful I would recommend using the Tour Guide Sharife he was extremely knowledgeable and we spent a wonderful day with him seeing all the sights , he was a great guy and really looked after us and made our trip very memorable. We will definitely return !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexWav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are so glad to hear that your Fathers 80th birthday stay turned out so well and that The Marly played a small part in ensuring the trip was memorable.

Thank you for complimenting Marcelle and her staff - they really do try and exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Marly again soon.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

The Marly is located in the perfect spot to enjoy all of CapeTown. Directly across from the beach and you do not have to look far for restaurants, bars etc. Public transportation is available at all time in front of the hotel.

The service is spectacular and the merchants that they work with are fantastic. If you are looking for an extremely knowledgable and professional driver, request Sharif.

Room Tip: Beachfront with Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mendhamjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your review.

Good to hear you took advantage of our recommended driver to see some of the best that Cape Town has to offer - there are so many wonderful places to visit.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

My Wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Marly. The location was brilliant. The Hotel itself is superb, the room was a good size, we had a mountain view room which was excellent. We especially enjoyed the complimentary items in our Mini Bar and it was enjoyable and relaxing to sit on our balcony looking out at the mountain enjoying a complimentary beverage.
The Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant where the breakfast is served is fantastic, with great views of Camps Bay beach. The food was delicious with lovely juices and smoothies.
The staff at the Marly were very efficient, friendly and professional. They were knowledgeable about the area and no request was too much trouble. They were always available, but were also not smothering which is exactly how we expect the staff to be in a top class hotel.
The Marly is a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to anyone for a truly special break.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexanderh696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for completing our guest survey.

We are grateful to have had you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

At first I was a bit nervous about the Marly based on prior reviews - I must say all expectations were blown out of the water. The hotel was the perfect location in the heart of camps bay. The hotel owns multiple restaurants which were delicious, we took advantage of room service from these for breakfast on our balcony! The restaurants run up the strip right below the hotel. An added bonus is that the tour bus stops a block away, perfect for transportation to all destinations!The sunset here is the best in all capetown and you have the perfect view with lounge chairs etc to enjoy at your leisurely pleasure. The room was modern and clean with a beautiful marble bathroom. The management was fantastic and took every opportunity to ensure our trip was exactly as planned and was proactive to make sure every need was met. They helped us purchase tickets for tours as well as booked us and recommended dinner reservations! I was so sad to leave and wish we had more time at the Marly, which is not something I easily say! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for any couple as it really is an intimate oasis in camps bay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you so much for posting such a generous review Danielle.

We are so glad you experienced all that The Marly and Camps Bay have to offer.

We continuously strive to provide the very best in five star hospitality and it is through feedback from guests like yourself that let us know we are doing so.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a longer stay on your next trip to the Cape.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I have never visited South Africa, but was very excited to attends a friends wedding. Had come across the hotel by chance, fell in love with the pictures at first; and was impressed by the reviews - booked straight away through Expedia.

From the get go there was a clear gap in communication and the hotel was very difficult to get in touch with. Emails were not answered, Instagram messages were ignored and in the end, the only way to get in touch with the hotel was via a friend who lives in South Africa calling them directly. It was actually approaching a month before anyone got in touch.

When payment was made, receipts were not issued (these had to be requested) and overall before even arriving, I felt uncomfortable about our upcoming stay. Staff were unapologetic and extremely blasé about the lack of customer service.

Unfortunately one day before travelling, the trip had to be cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances. Staff were very unsympathetic and although I didn't expect a full refund, I requested for the booking to be transferred to another date - after a number of feeble excuses, this was refused so in the end a £3700 suite was wasted and again the staff were unapologetic and couldn't seem to care less. Having worked in management and being the owner of a business, I know there are circumstances where discretion is applied. No such thing with the Marly.

Although I will get my chance to visit South Africa at some point in the future, I would not recommend this hotel as out of all of the 5* hotels I've dealt with internationally, my experience with them has so far been the worst!

I know I didn't stay, but the 3 month ordeal from the moment of booking to the unfortunate event of not being able to go left a very sour taste.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Ms Guthrie-Evans

We are so glad we were able to offer your stay to your friends after your late cancellation.

We hope they enjoyed their stay with us at The Marly.

Kind regards

Hannalie Greyling
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
0.3 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
1.1 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
3.8 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marly Hotel

Address: 201 The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Price Range: R5 111 - R14 281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marly Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection. Her sister property is The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. The Marly has 11 spacious suites, all with sea facing or uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostle Mountain range and is located right up "close and personal" with Camps Bay beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing