We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marly Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Houghton View 13 Apartments(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
204
21
13
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
21
13
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla belleboutique hotelparking garagebreakfast restaurantcape townroom serviceperfect locationsea viewpool areahot tubour honeymoonrooms are largewonderful hotelfinal nightbreakfast is servedrestaurants barscomplimentary mini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we had rose petals and champagne all over our room. It was very nice of them. It was a great location. The room had a wonderful view of the ocean. The service was also amazing. Everything was super clean. I would recommend this to everybody. If you're going to stay here, make sure you get a room with an ocean view. Best part is, we have daily snacks they give you in your room.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bignguyener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so glad you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and enjoyed the little touches my team added to ensure your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary!

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We kicked off our Honeymoon in Africa at the Marly. It was absolutely perfect! The room was gorgeous and clean. We had an amazing patio facing the ocean. The staff was kind and welcoming. The location couldn't have been better. We could walk to so many restaurants that were all delicious. We can't wait to return!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Leslie F

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Hannalie and the Marly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were booked here for 5 nights and stayed 1 it was that bad...The hotel website and photos look amazing unfortunately doesn't live up to the expectations...On arrival through a multi storey car park we get out of our car and have to climb over the rope as staff on reception watch on and we have to lift our luggage over.We check in and have the most unwelcoming receptionist who clearly is in the wrong job.He asked us for our passports and gave us the room key,no Welcome to The Marly or shown around it was the worst welcome we've ever endured.We go to our room which overlooks a bowling green and looks down on a huge green generator not a great view whatsoever.We then went to the pool which is tiny,smells of food from the various restaurants below and has a very loud aircon machine so not relaxing whatsoever.My husband struggled to put the heavy umberella up and I had to help as there was no staff around to help.Its like we were staying in an apartment block as the staff here really don't want to help it's a burden if you ask them anything.I asked if there was a hair salon and was told to go look myself in the shopping centre underneath hardly great customer service!Breakfast is another joke of this so called 5 star establishment.You have to go downstairs through a grotty shopping centre to a local cafe what locals use & the food and service is terrible.The next morning we decided this wasn't a relaxing 5 star hotel,it was an apartment block with terrible staff and not even it's own restaurant.I spoke to the General Manager as it was our Honeymoon and she reduced me to tears,was so rude and unprofessional,would only deal with my husband & told me to go and pack the sooner I left the better.We was also charged £550 fee to leave as we'd payed in advance,luckily Booking.com kindly refunded this under the terrible circumstances.Her attitude was so bad and she was all over my husband and kept scowling at me.He just wanted out of there asap and knew exactly what game she was playing.
I would not recommend this place to anyone it's not as described and is certainly not relaxing.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Amanda

We were surprised to read your review and the points you mentioned about your experience came as a shock to us. I rechecked our records and even found your husbands note of thanks for our efficient service in relocating you to a better suited property.

We are sorry to hear that you misread our gesture to assist and still hope that you were happy at the hotel we arranged on your behalf. Please could you also double check your bank statement as it was not booking.com who refunded you but the hotel directly.

Best regards,

Marly Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

stayed here 3 times now and we love it it is in a perfect position for the beach and restaurants cabs right out side plus the open topped bus goes by frequently the staff are great and cant do enough for you

Room Tip: number 1 has an out side heated whirlpool bath if you like that sort of thing
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Roger W

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th stay soon!
Best regards,
Hannalie and the Marly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Relaxed friendly small boutique hotel in the perfect location to relax and enjoy the Cape. The hotel has 11 very high standard rooms but what really makes this place is the staff who were always friendly and there to help with any request

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cgriff_486736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews