We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marly Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we had rose petals and champagne all over our room. It was very nice of them. It was a great location. The room had a wonderful view of the ocean. The service was also amazing. Everything was super clean. I would recommend this to everybody. If you're going to stay here, make sure you get a room with an ocean view. Best part is, we have daily snacks they give you in your room.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bignguyener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so glad you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and enjoyed the little touches my team added to ensure your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary!

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    15
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
34
121
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We kicked off our Honeymoon in Africa at the Marly. It was absolutely perfect! The room was gorgeous and clean. We had an amazing patio facing the ocean. The staff was kind and welcoming. The location couldn't have been better. We could walk to so many restaurants that were all delicious. We can't wait to return!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Dear Leslie F

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Hannalie and the Marly Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were booked here for 5 nights and stayed 1 it was that bad...The hotel website and photos look amazing unfortunately doesn't live up to the expectations...On arrival through a multi storey car park we get out of our car and have to climb over the rope as staff on reception watch on and we have to lift our luggage over.We check in and have the most unwelcoming receptionist who clearly is in the wrong job.He asked us for our passports and gave us the room key,no Welcome to The Marly or shown around it was the worst welcome we've ever endured.We go to our room which overlooks a bowling green and looks down on a huge green generator not a great view whatsoever.We then went to the pool which is tiny,smells of food from the various restaurants below and has a very loud aircon machine so not relaxing whatsoever.My husband struggled to put the heavy umberella up and I had to help as there was no staff around to help.Its like we were staying in an apartment block as the staff here really don't want to help it's a burden if you ask them anything.I asked if there was a hair salon and was told to go look myself in the shopping centre underneath hardly great customer service!Breakfast is another joke of this so called 5 star establishment.You have to go downstairs through a grotty shopping centre to a local cafe what locals use & the food and service is terrible.The next morning we decided this wasn't a relaxing 5 star hotel,it was an apartment block with terrible staff and not even it's own restaurant.I spoke to the General Manager as it was our Honeymoon and she reduced me to tears,was so rude and unprofessional,would only deal with my husband & told me to go and pack the sooner I left the better.We was also charged £550 fee to leave as we'd payed in advance,luckily Booking.com kindly refunded this under the terrible circumstances.Her attitude was so bad and she was all over my husband and kept scowling at me.He just wanted out of there asap and knew exactly what game she was playing.
I would not recommend this place to anyone it's not as described and is certainly not relaxing.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Dear Amanda

We were surprised to read your review and the points you mentioned about your experience came as a shock to us. I rechecked our records and even found your husbands note of thanks for our efficient service in relocating you to a better suited property.

We are sorry to hear that you misread our gesture to assist and still hope that you were happy at the hotel we arranged on your behalf. Please could you also double check your bank statement as it was not booking.com who refunded you but the hotel directly.

Best regards,

Marly Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

stayed here 3 times now and we love it it is in a perfect position for the beach and restaurants cabs right out side plus the open topped bus goes by frequently the staff are great and cant do enough for you

Room Tip: number 1 has an out side heated whirlpool bath if you like that sort of thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Dear Roger W

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th stay soon!
Best regards,
Hannalie and the Marly Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Relaxed friendly small boutique hotel in the perfect location to relax and enjoy the Cape. The hotel has 11 very high standard rooms but what really makes this place is the staff who were always friendly and there to help with any request

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cgriff_486736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Hannalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.8 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 073 reviews
0.5 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marly Hotel

Property: The Marly Hotel
Address: 201 The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Price range (per night): R2 678 - R8 982
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marly Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection. Her sister property is The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. The Marly has 11 spacious suites, all with sea facing or uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostle Mountain range and is located right up "close and personal" with Camps Bay beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing