We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and Perfect ”
Review of The Marly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marly Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

It is actually difficult to express how much I have loved staying at this hotel for the last 8 nights .
The moment I checked in I knew I was in the right place
I am traveling with my husband and two teenage children
We are all so happy and privileged to stay with the Marly family

The staff -
There is nothing else to say except exceptional ,warm ,friendly and helpful

Marcelle is like a friend that is around to help when you need her
But always a pleasure just to chat for no reason at all

Lungi who works on the desk as well is equally fantastic efficient and helpful

All the staff in this hotel become like friends and family

Patricia head of house keeping runs a great team and makes sure your room is always perfectly spotless and well stocked with drinks toiletries and towels

The rooms are big bright , decadent and clean.
They are pure luxury
Beds are beautiful and pillows are perfect
I could not fault them at all
We have had 1 mountain view and 1 sea view the entire time
Both are outstanding

The breakfasts from la belle are beautiful And fresh weather you eat in the room or at the restaurant

The location is perfect safe and very very vibrant
I would never choose another hotel in Cape Town

My only negative is ..............I have to leave.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Feral23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Feral23

What a wonderful review - we loved reading your feedback and can only hope that you will return soon.

Best regards,

The Marly Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for The Marly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The cutest little boutique hotel, 11 gorgeously decorated rooms. We were met with the nicest staff, who you soon get to know seeing as the hotel is so small. Located directly in the centre of everything, ocean views and across the road from the beach. Below the hotel are many restaurants, most of which are available for room service! Each room Seaview room has a large balcony with sun beds. Offers onsite parking for anyone who has rented a car, and is in a very safe and secure location. Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ash_h19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Amazing location with great views from the front l. Small pool area. Not a regular hotel more like executive suites. Service is amazing but it's very expensive. The actual suite was gorgeous with great views but you are directly over diners.

Room Tip: Views were amazing - just wished the hair dryer stretched to my head
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank caitrionao2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed at the Marly for four days. The bed room as well as the bath room were large and luxury. The room had a large balcony on the beach side with jacuzzi and outdoor sofa.
The service was always friendly and helpful. We could park our car on room level nearly 20 meters from our room and right in front of the receiption.
Breakfast in the related restaurant was very delicious. The fruit juice was freshly squeezed and we enjoyed the egg benedict with salmon more than once.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_zuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Traveller Zuerich

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of The Marly.

We love that you enjoyed every aspect of the Marly experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Hannalie Wiese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We have stayed in a number of hotels in and around the Western Cape over the years, including some of CT's loveliest (and more expensive). This time we decided to treat ourselves and spend significantly more than we normally do when staying in Camps Bay but from the moment we arrived, we realised it was not worth it. This is an honest review aimed at trying to stop others making a similar mistake. While this hotel might suit others much better, under no circumstances is it worth the money. We cannot get any sort of refund and our money is spent but I would hate anyone else to go through the disappointment and feeling of being duped that we have
Positives: nice bathrooms, good wifi, comfortable beds
Negatives: Reception is in a vestibule in a multi storey car park
Pedestrian access is through a downmarket shopping centre
Public lift used to get to cafe for breakfast is filthy
Breakfast, while the food is good, is in a tired restaurant which struggles to cope with demand as it is open to the public
Breakfast is shared by people who have just come off beach in whatever they are wearing (or not)
Unless you have a sea view room you wouldn't know you were by the sea and cannot see the sea
There aren't really any public areas or a bar
Swimming pool is not a swimming pool. It is waist deep and miniscule (no sign of other one seen in hotel website photos)
Terrace has no sea view and is surrounded by noisy air conditioning units
Terrace stinks of fried food from cafes below/air conditioning units
Pool furniture mattresses stained and dirty
Curtains so flimsy bedroom was light as soon as sun rose (about 5.30am)
Website refers to a Japanese restaurant. This is just an extension of the breakfast restaurant and one of a number of low impact beach front restaurants
Staff seemed put out that our teenage son and daughter wanted singles rather than a double bed and then asked my son to help make the bed

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank suzied982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mrs Darlington

In reply to your review and further to a lengthy discussion with your husband, we have noted your detailed feedback.

We continuously strive to provide only the very best in hospitality. On this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations for which we can only apologise.

Kind regards,

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
0.3 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
280 reviews
3.8 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.5 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marly Hotel

Address: 201 The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Price Range: R3 033 - R11 617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marly Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection. Her sister property is The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. The Marly has 11 spacious suites, all with sea facing or uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostle Mountain range and is located right up "close and personal" with Camps Bay beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing