We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marly Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$173
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$738
US$450
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
204
21
13
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
21
13
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla belleboutique hotelparking garagebreakfast restaurantcape townroom serviceperfect locationsea viewpool areahot tubour honeymoonrooms are largewonderful hotelfinal nightbreakfast is servedrestaurants barscomplimentary mini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed at the Marly for four days. The bed room as well as the bath room were large and luxury. The room had a large balcony on the beach side with jacuzzi and outdoor sofa.
The service was always friendly and helpful. We could park our car on room level nearly 20 meters from our room and right in front of the receiption.
Breakfast in the related restaurant was very delicious. The fruit juice was freshly squeezed and we enjoyed the egg benedict with salmon more than once.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_zuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Traveller Zuerich

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of The Marly.

We love that you enjoyed every aspect of the Marly experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Hannalie Wiese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We have stayed in a number of hotels in and around the Western Cape over the years, including some of CT's loveliest (and more expensive). This time we decided to treat ourselves and spend significantly more than we normally do when staying in Camps Bay but from the moment we arrived, we realised it was not worth it. This is an honest review aimed at trying to stop others making a similar mistake. While this hotel might suit others much better, under no circumstances is it worth the money. We cannot get any sort of refund and our money is spent but I would hate anyone else to go through the disappointment and feeling of being duped that we have
Positives: nice bathrooms, good wifi, comfortable beds
Negatives: Reception is in a vestibule in a multi storey car park
Pedestrian access is through a downmarket shopping centre
Public lift used to get to cafe for breakfast is filthy
Breakfast, while the food is good, is in a tired restaurant which struggles to cope with demand as it is open to the public
Breakfast is shared by people who have just come off beach in whatever they are wearing (or not)
Unless you have a sea view room you wouldn't know you were by the sea and cannot see the sea
There aren't really any public areas or a bar
Swimming pool is not a swimming pool. It is waist deep and miniscule (no sign of other one seen in hotel website photos)
Terrace has no sea view and is surrounded by noisy air conditioning units
Terrace stinks of fried food from cafes below/air conditioning units
Pool furniture mattresses stained and dirty
Curtains so flimsy bedroom was light as soon as sun rose (about 5.30am)
Website refers to a Japanese restaurant. This is just an extension of the breakfast restaurant and one of a number of low impact beach front restaurants
Staff seemed put out that our teenage son and daughter wanted singles rather than a double bed and then asked my son to help make the bed

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank suzied982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mrs Darlington

In reply to your review and further to a lengthy discussion with your husband, we have noted your detailed feedback.

We continuously strive to provide only the very best in hospitality. On this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations for which we can only apologise.

Kind regards,

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We arrived in Camps Bay, expecting everything to be great because of the price but we shortly found out that you arrive on foot through the towns shopping centre in a lift which was dirty when we arrived, or if you come by car you get to enter on the third floor of the dirty car park. We were shown to our room which was quite nice, we had a room with a mountain view and in that view there were stairs which led to the car park below which looked like they had never been cleaned. In the pictures they manage to make the pool look huge but it was 2x2 metres with no sea view and there was a smell of fast food because of the restaurants below. For breakfast the next morning you had to go through the shopping complex to a restaurant, and to get to the beach you have to go down through the shopping centre and past the foot massage place. The staff were unhelpful and seemed like they didn't want to help us.
Our trip to South Africa has been good but was ruined by this over priced hotel, if you don't want to see the sea from the hotel and don't want to spend a fortune to get a sea view room, come here.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank barnes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr Darlington

In reply to your review and further to a lengthy discussion with your father, we have noted your detailed feedback.

We continuously strive to provide only the very best in hospitality. On this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations for which we can only apologise.

Kind regards,

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed here for two nights & thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Service is top notch with nothing being too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious & served on our balcony.
Our suite was stylish & well appointed with a large balcony overlooking the beach. This is the prefect location to enjoy Camps Bay & we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The hotel was great! a few minor issues kept it from me giving them 5 stars.
The TV service sucks. we had to reboot the thing about 8-10 times during a 5 day stay. also kept getting errors that the account was in arrears.

the in-room coffee service kept sucking up pods without delivering coffee.

One of the managers (I think her name was Tanya) seemed to lose patience with our room and my mom's (this was part of an 80th birthday gift for her) room with having to reboot the Dish TV stuff way too many times. there was another manager who was truly outstanding. Overall they were great

the food and service were exceptional.

the rooms were amazing and had the best views I could have imagined.

Staff were extraordinary.

will definitely go back (as soon as I can put up with another 2 hour flight, layover and another 15.5 hour flight back to NY)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank robetmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your review and your feedback.

We strive to provide the very best in five star hospitality and it is through feedback from guests like yourself that we are able to do so.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Marly when next in South Africa.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews