We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non traditional luxury but Expensive”
Review of The Marly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marly Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non traditional luxury but Expensive”
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Amazing location with great views from the front l. Small pool area. Not a regular hotel more like executive suites. Service is amazing but it's very expensive. The actual suite was gorgeous with great views but you are directly over diners.

Room Tip: Views were amazing - just wished the hair dryer stretched to my head
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank caitrionao2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    17
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
131
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zuerich
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed at the Marly for four days. The bed room as well as the bath room were large and luxury. The room had a large balcony on the beach side with jacuzzi and outdoor sofa.
The service was always friendly and helpful. We could park our car on room level nearly 20 meters from our room and right in front of the receiption.
Breakfast in the related restaurant was very delicious. The fruit juice was freshly squeezed and we enjoyed the egg benedict with salmon more than once.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_zuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2017
Dear Traveller Zuerich

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of The Marly.

We love that you enjoyed every aspect of the Marly experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Hannalie Wiese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We have stayed in a number of hotels in and around the Western Cape over the years, including some of CT's loveliest (and more expensive). This time we decided to treat ourselves and spend significantly more than we normally do when staying in Camps Bay but from the moment we arrived, we realised it was not worth it. This is an honest review aimed at trying to stop others making a similar mistake. While this hotel might suit others much better, under no circumstances is it worth the money. We cannot get any sort of refund and our money is spent but I would hate anyone else to go through the disappointment and feeling of being duped that we have
Positives: nice bathrooms, good wifi, comfortable beds
Negatives: Reception is in a vestibule in a multi storey car park
Pedestrian access is through a downmarket shopping centre
Public lift used to get to cafe for breakfast is filthy
Breakfast, while the food is good, is in a tired restaurant which struggles to cope with demand as it is open to the public
Breakfast is shared by people who have just come off beach in whatever they are wearing (or not)
Unless you have a sea view room you wouldn't know you were by the sea and cannot see the sea
There aren't really any public areas or a bar
Swimming pool is not a swimming pool. It is waist deep and miniscule (no sign of other one seen in hotel website photos)
Terrace has no sea view and is surrounded by noisy air conditioning units
Terrace stinks of fried food from cafes below/air conditioning units
Pool furniture mattresses stained and dirty
Curtains so flimsy bedroom was light as soon as sun rose (about 5.30am)
Website refers to a Japanese restaurant. This is just an extension of the breakfast restaurant and one of a number of low impact beach front restaurants
Staff seemed put out that our teenage son and daughter wanted singles rather than a double bed and then asked my son to help make the bed

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank suzied982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Mrs Darlington

In reply to your review and further to a lengthy discussion with your husband, we have noted your detailed feedback.

We continuously strive to provide only the very best in hospitality. On this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations for which we can only apologise.

Kind regards,

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We arrived in Camps Bay, expecting everything to be great because of the price but we shortly found out that you arrive on foot through the towns shopping centre in a lift which was dirty when we arrived, or if you come by car you get to enter on the third floor of the dirty car park. We were shown to our room which was quite nice, we had a room with a mountain view and in that view there were stairs which led to the car park below which looked like they had never been cleaned. In the pictures they manage to make the pool look huge but it was 2x2 metres with no sea view and there was a smell of fast food because of the restaurants below. For breakfast the next morning you had to go through the shopping complex to a restaurant, and to get to the beach you have to go down through the shopping centre and past the foot massage place. The staff were unhelpful and seemed like they didn't want to help us.
Our trip to South Africa has been good but was ruined by this over priced hotel, if you don't want to see the sea from the hotel and don't want to spend a fortune to get a sea view room, come here.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barnes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Mr Darlington

In reply to your review and further to a lengthy discussion with your father, we have noted your detailed feedback.

We continuously strive to provide only the very best in hospitality. On this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations for which we can only apologise.

Kind regards,

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2 101 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 851 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed here for two nights & thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Service is top notch with nothing being too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious & served on our balcony.
Our suite was stylish & well appointed with a large balcony overlooking the beach. This is the prefect location to enjoy Camps Bay & we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Marly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Hannalie Wiese
General Manager
The Marly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.3 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.1 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marly Hotel

Property: The Marly Hotel
Address: 201 The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Price range (per night): R2 744 - R9 623
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marly Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marly is the newest edition to The Kove Collection. Her sister property is The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. The Marly has 11 spacious suites, all with sea facing or uninterrupted views of The Twelve Apostle Mountain range and is located right up "close and personal" with Camps Bay beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing