We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Katy F

Must-Stay in Camps Bay!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
This historical hotel is an absolute must--its charm, and hospitality is something you cannot miss when visiting Cape Town.
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 475
R 4 002
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 235
  • Priceline
    R 5 817
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 391
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 470
4.6 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 877
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 2 888
2.0 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 5 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 940
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 4 870
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 458
1.5 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 3 154
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 750
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 817
  • Priceline
    R 2 925
1.6 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 024
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 153
1.4 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 447
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 210
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
419
100
34
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
419
100
34
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge the main house manor house nature reserve cape town sister hotel table mountain wonderful hotel turn down service stunning views bars and restaurants tennis sea villa cbr sunset braai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a beautiful property. The service is top notch as is the food. Our room was very comfortable. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MontanaMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2024

we enjoyed our stay in camps Bay retreat very much. the staff is very friendly and we felt so comftable as whole Family. The view is awsome and the hot pot perfect after a long day.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G6795KQdano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable and greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we pride ourselves in our friendly service. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Absolutely the best resort I’ve stayed at in my life. The staff is delightful, the food is exquisite, and the views/rooms/amenities are to die for. Ask for Lucy at the spa - the hands of an angel! Everything you need you can have in the blink of an eye. Must stay in Cape Town!!

Room tip: If you’re looking for luxury in Cape Town, stay here!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 749devonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear Devon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable and greatly appreciated here at Camps Bay Retreat. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and service received. We will share this review with Lucy as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Overall it was disappointing. The hotel is in a great location with the most incredible views. However the service and the quality of the food is well short of five stars.

The breakfast experience was poor. Nobody would greet you or even check your number when you arrived. You have to ask for water and a couple times we had to ask for water more than once (don't know why they don't make it available at the buffet). The breakfast itself was very average. Bacon was burnt and everything quite bland. They have pancakes on their a la carte menu, but then they tell you that only the pancakes at the buffet are available (which were again not great)

The pools didn't seem clean, with debris not being cleared until midday some days. They watered the grass in the morning so guests couldnt use the seats and guests had to ask staff for cushions some mornings.

The staff in general don't seem to care or management have no oversight. Staff are on their phones a lot. It feels like an inconvenience to ask for anything. Trying to book a padel court was difficult and we were double booked with another group. I also asked if I could get a lesson with the coach as they had said this was available. Nobody seemed to be clear on how this should be done and after talking to 3 different staff I was given the coaches number to contact and he just ignored my messages.

On the good side, our room was great, and the cleaning was always immaculate

This could be an amazing hotel, but overall the service is very disappointing

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable and greatly appreciated here at Camps Bay Retreat.

We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience at Camps Bay Retreat. We have taken your feedback into consideration and we have made improvements to the breakfast and investigated the service efficiencies and have done training again where necessary. We do apologise that we did not offer the level of service that we pride ourselves in and we appreciate the feedback to constantly improve.

Most of our pools are concrete and salt water treated which at times make them appear cloudy. Unfortunately during our windy season and berry season, the leaves and debris to get ahead of our regular pool maintenance. In order to retain the beauty of our grounds; they require consistent irrigation, especially during the dry windy season.

Once again, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. With your feedback, and our consistent efforts to improve we can ensure you that should you return that the experience will be that of which we truly pride ourselves in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

Visited on a Monday afternoon at 2pm.
You cannot just enter there, without a booking.
Had a pleasant afternoon and good food in a marvelous scenery.
Beautiful gardens and attention to details.
The establishment is for higher class tourism and clients as the prices are like Europe. Massages & products are priced based on European market value.

Very friendly, discreet staff members, hard-working & attentive to details. Very pleasant, relaxing experience.

There is a beautiful tranquility walk through a nice little forest with a lot of things to explore & enjoy. Nicely set up and very refreshing to experience.

Very nice experience.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jonymatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear Jony,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable and greatly appreciated here at Camps Bay Retreat.

We constantly look at how we can better curate experiences for our guests, to make you, our guest, feel more exclusive. We are happy to hear that our consistent efforts to improve guest experience are paying off. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews