We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
clovet754736
Leeds, United Kingdom

Magical place ...

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2023
This old house with heaps of history has a genuine feel of by-gone days when it was a family home. Set high on a hill with beautiful sea views and gorgeous gardens which are highly maintained with little walks and paths leading to a swing over a brook and a hidden waterfall, this place really is magical. It's an oasis from the hubbub of Camps Bay and offers luxury accommodation and service. a decent restaurant and bar, and if you have time check out the Spa with a forest tent with baths sitting among the natural environment, amazing. The more modern accommodation is across a rope bridge across the gorge, well worth it for our villa with private pool and wood fired Hot Tub. Afternoon tea with scones is a lovely complimentary daily treat. Most people use taxis to get around and to Cape Town - staying here adds maybe 10 minutes (we stayed in Cape Town first and then wanted some R&R at the end of our holiday). I would highly recommend Camps Bay Retreat to anyone.
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Satahara-Leigh Schofield, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 05 Dec 2023
Hello! thank you for taking the time to share such an extensive and informative review. We are pleased to read your use of words like magical and oasis when depicting the retreat. We hope to welcome you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 7 403
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 403
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 800
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 802
1.1 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 410
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 263
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 992
R 4 242
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 723
R 2 501
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 501
0.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 462
R 6 477
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 540
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 064
2.0 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 802
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 256
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
420
100
34
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
420
100
34
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge the main house manor house nature reserve cape town sister hotel table mountain wonderful hotel turn down service stunning views bars and restaurants tennis sea villa cbr sunset braai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2023

I went for 4 days with my son for a quick break. We loved the hot tub and the views from our room were beautiful. Staff were friendly and my favourite time of day was tea and scones between 4 & 5pm. Room service was good. Building was lovely historic and well kept. Lovely gardens, convenient location, good parking if you have a car.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HansQ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Satahara-Leigh Schofield, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to read that you enjoyed the service you received from guests as well as the hot tub, views and afternoon tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

I strongly recommend the Camps Bay retreat for anyone visiting Cape Town. It gives you the best of both worlds. You can have all the privacy you want and still enjoy the views of the sea and the amazing food from the restaurant. This is a hidden gem in Camps Bay. I will definitely go back as the accommodation is tops...clean and spacious. It is of course with every cent you have to pay....no doubt it is affordable.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesleym148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Satahara-Leigh Schofield, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Thank you for saying that Camps Bay Retreat is a hidden gem and that you find our accommodation "tops... clean and spacious"
We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

Our nature haven in the city, such a gem. Spring water hot pools are a great upgrade. Incredible views, expansive grounds, right next to the beach and excellent food, we will be back again soon. thanks!

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D7086DOpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Satahara-Leigh Schofield, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Thank you for your amazing feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

This was our first stop on our three week holiday along the garden route.

The room we stayed in was spacious, comfy and very clean, everything we wanted. The grounds were beautiful and safe, full of bird life, water features and a stunning view of the ocean.

The staff bent over backwards to help us in any way they could, including making reservations at various restaurants and excursions for us.

The breakfast was very tasty, and on one of the days we left for a tour early they packed us up some pancakes and granola which was very much appreciated.

The complimentary cream tea each day on the front lawn was an added special touch which we loved.

We liked it so much that we recommended it to another couple we met on safari, who ended up staying here and loving it themselves!

Room tip: Take advantage of the delicious (and free) cream tea they serve each afternoon.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank henrywgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Satahara-Leigh Schofield, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Hello! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for sharing the joy that is Camps Bay with the other couple you met on Safari.
We are glad that you enjoyed all the grounds and the facilities it has to offer.
The staff will be thrilled to read that you appreciated their efforts - will definitely pass the message on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Incredible location but very poor service. I believe that the managing agent (Village n Life) is doing a really poor job in managing this gem of a place. Also the rooms are a bit tired and investment in and refresh of the rooms is required. This place could be so much more if the customer service levels improved. The staff are friendly enough but just poorly trained do manage this establishment. The spa was good.

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LocalIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews