We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
El-Shebah M
Johannesburg, South Africa

Comortable luxury on the shores of the Atlantic

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Sept 2021
Stayed at Camps Bay Retreat for 3 wonderful days. Loved everything about the property, from location to the on site restaurant, to the friendly and professional staff. Cannot recommend it highly enough. I will definitely be back soon!
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 7 403
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 403
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 787
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 410
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 021
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 263
0.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 767
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 296
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 540
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 723
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 591
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 802
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Camps Bay Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
420
100
34
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
420
100
34
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge the main house manor house nature reserve cape town sister hotel table mountain wonderful hotel turn down service stunning views bars and restaurants tennis sea villa cbr sunset braai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Camps Bay Retreat is one of those special one-of-a-kind places that will never be forgotten. The gardens are magical and extend beyond one's imaginings. The Manor rooms are olde-worlde delights and the service overall was phenomenal. A real treat in every way. Himitsu served up the most delicious Asian dinner and breakfast. We will definitely be back...

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

My husband and I stayed at one of the pods recently and were not impressed at all. Such a pity because the views were spectacular, breakfast was great and the gardens were beautiful including the lovely nature pool. Awesome place to stroll. I cannot comment on the villas but it seemed those would have been a much better option. The 3 pods are situated right at the end of the garden almost like an afterthought and a very,very long walk to get there. They are literally metres away from a very busy road so you hear constant noise day and night. On the right side of the pod we stayed in is a nursery where workers can look into your bedroom and on the left side you can say hi to your neighbour in the pod next to you. In the front awesome views of the forest but it has a trail inbetween with people constantly walking past the front..So you are looking for peace and quiet and a romantic time away with your partner this pod is not the place or the pod next to ours. Maybe the one furthest away from the nursery would be better. Also if you on the larger side the bathroom is very cramped. I would visit again but opt for the villas.

Room tip: Opt for the villas not the pods
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

This little hidden gem is nested in the heart of Camps Bay with the most breathe taking views of the ocean, mountains and the best sunsets. its close enough for a quick relaxation and even though its close by you still feel the relaxation and feels of being far away from home. its become my husband and I favourite place to escape. the property itself is so tranquil with its walk paths, little tables to soak up the sun reading a book and just vanishing into the magical forests while listening to the waterfalls. living in a fairytale for 24hours is the best recharge for the next few months. the spa treatment are given in the rustic, yet warm room. i am yet to experience the outdoor tented baths... that would be a summer loving adventure for sure :)

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shanaazg2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2021

No management or leadership resulting in some really terrible service.
Lots of thing outdated or
A window fell out in the restuarant bathroom and almost broke my wife’s hand- no one seemed to care or even followed up to see how she was.

The Restuarant (evening menu especially)was the only thing 5 star
Location is great and views are awesome but dont expect 5 star service. Treat in like an abnb with a restuarant on site.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jord8585h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

We only stayed for the one night but it was fantastic and we will definitely be going back. Camps Bay Retreat captures a bygone era that allows you to relax and your mind to unwind. The staff are amazing and attentive.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gar0434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews