We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
345
75
23
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
75
23
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge deck house manor house the main house hotel dogs love dogs cape town nature reserve duty manager table mountain stunning views watch the sunset sun loungers wonderful stay short drive attention to detail boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed for two weeks with my wife in September 2016. Awesome location in camps bay, close to the beach in a tropical garden like setting. Only 15 rooms in three different buildings. Staff is very friendly and attentive; secure parking space available; breakfast is continental with an English touch. Three pools, spa, tennis court, this is a awesome place to relax and perfectly located to discover cape town and surroundings. Definitely a top destination!

Room Tip: I'd recommend to book a room in the deck house or village house as they all have decks/balcony and are very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a spa package. We were welcomed by name, wished her and treated us like royalty, making sure we were happy all day. I am truly impressed with the level of service and will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for your valued review. I am so happy you had a relaxing treatment and are delighted you had a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future.

Best wishes
Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This was our 2nd location for our 7 days in Capetown late September, I was looking forward to Camps Bay Retreat, I will have to say, this place had me ready to go home. The views are nice from the main house the quirky bridge is different but the room is not private or comfortable and hasn't been updated since the 70's. Lumpy bed and poor lighting you'll be spending 10 minutes morning and night adjusting the blinds. Breakfast was awful, the buffet is at least 2 days old every day, dried out cheese and hard croissant rolls with wilted fruit will have you ordering from the menu were a request for a bowl of oatmeal will take 30 minutes with a staff that seems annoyed that you've requested something off the buffet. The front desk staff was nice and friendly, however, the rest of the staff clearly hate their jobs. Look at staying at the Four Rosemead.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank keepin_it_real4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

On the weekend of 23rd-25th sept
I had my 1st visit to the camps bay retreat, reception in the main house and security personnel couldn't have been more friendly and efficient, over the quirky rope bridge to a small modern well appointed room,privacy could be a problem for some.
As a conservancy the grounds were expansive and stunning, yet the location enabled me to walk into camps bay front easily.
Breakfast was ample and satisfying with a buffet and to order offering,
Peaceful at night and a pleasure to read in the library in the old main house,
Would definitely go back, well priced for the location

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank 891kirstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Tucked away with its own land a small high quality hotel within safe walking distance of local restaurants. Delightful staff and very friendly dogs. Superb Heritage day barbeque with huge range of food. Lovely setting but there is road noise during the day if outside. Modern spacious room. Reception team very helpful in advising routes for self driven trips, booking tickets in advance for cable car and booking local restaurant. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Older rooms in manor house more traditional, modern rooms in other adjacent small buildings
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews