We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
491
101
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
101
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house cape town honesty bar stayed here for nights minute walk table mountain the ground floor lovely room south africa first stop fantastic views a great place to stay sun loungers our honeymoon twelve apostles nothing is too much trouble camps bay area
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Ocean View House is just superb, from the moment we arrived the experience was just outstanding. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, the food was great, the rooms excellent and the location is just right with lovely views. A big thank you to all of the team for making our stay so special.

Room tip: The suites are a good choice as they get excellent views.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dearest RichardC

Thank you so much for this absolute positive review!

We are so delighted that our establishment makes for such good feedback.

We are continuously striving at offering only the best in everything that we offer and it is always welcoming and satisfying to read that we are doing a good job.

All the best and hope to see you back with us Soon!

Kind regards
Ocean View House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable stay here, thanks to the beautiful garden, tasteful and very comfortable interiors, delicious breakfast and in particular the courteous, friendly and attentive staff, headed up by Ayrton who was most helpful and gracious. We would've loved to stay in this beautiful corner of Bakoven for longer - perhaps next time! Till then, Thanks once again, Ayrton and all the team!

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

I'm a bit of a cricket fan and stayed here during the England test match.
Everything was just about perfect. The guest house was about a 15 minute walk from the main bars and restaurant in Camps Bay. We had a room with a beautiful view overlooking the sea with the twelve apostle mountains behind us. The grounds are attractive and beautifully kept. The rooms were first class as were all the amenities. Breakfast was superb with a comprehensive choice.
The staff were exceptional and with their help and recommendations it made for a wonderful stay.
If I was to be really pernickety the wifi wasnt particularly good, but this did not really bother us too much. Otherwise I cant recommend this place enough.
Wonderful stay and really hope I can return sometime in the near future (maybe on the next England tour). Thanks to Ocean View for everything.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Good day Keith!!

Thank you for such a wonderful review and taking the time to write these kind words.I'm happy to see that you've had such a lovely time, not in at Ocean View House, but in Cape Town ;-)

Ocean View House is incredibly lucky with the location....a mere 1.5km from the main beach and the breathtaking views don't hurt, do they?

I also hope that we get to host you and your beautiful wife again soon
Safe Travels

Kindly
Myself and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

My family (Myself, husband, twelve year old twins and my mother) stayed for 4 nights - it was a great stay and we felt very comfortable. We had two connecting rooms on the ground floor near the reception. The rooms offered a lovely patio with view of the ocean. The breakfast buffet was delicious. All the staff members I met were very friendly and helpful. We were there for a very busy holiday weekend and they gave great suggestions on pln B when we needed to find other things to do. A very short walk to a small beach and also very close to the Camps Bay beach. We found the accommodations very convenient to Cape Town but set away to be able to sit back relax and enjoy the beautiful ocean view and views of surrounding features while on the Patio, Hammocks or Picnic Tables. The staff gave us wonderful suggestions on things to do around the area - that would not have been on our radar. Should we ever go back to Camps Bay, then a stay at this hotel will be a must for me.

Date of stay: January 2016
1  Thank MFP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Hello there!

Thank you for your glowing review of Ocean View House. I trust that you and your beautiful family has returned home safely.

We are lucky to have such an incredible team with their local knowledge and advise.
I do hope to welcome you folks back soon.....the buffet will be stocked with its daily goodies and the staff will carry their warm smiles.

Safe Travels
Kindly,
Myself and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon here and couldn't have wanted for more. Great location, good breakfast, attentive but not intrusive staff (Ayrton is particularly excellent at restaurant recommendations). We had a lovely room (16) overlooking the sea with our own entrance and carpark space.
If you're looking for the big characterless hotel with endless facilities this is probably not for you but if you appreciate more of a boutique experience in a unique setting you will love it here.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 199neila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Neil

Thank you for this incredibly glowing review and all the kindness that comes with it! You have brought so much happiness to our team with this feedback. This is the reason why we do, what we do... to cater to incredible guests as yourself!

As your review indicates, we are incredibly lucky with our location ( ....location, location, ....)
Nestled between the foot of the Twelve Apostles and The Chilly Atlantic, we sure have the best of both worlds. And a mere 1.5 km to the hustle and bustle of Camps Bay!

If you ever return to Camps Bay, please contact us directly for a special rate. We will maintain our high standards and warm smiles in the hope of your return

Kind Regards
Myself and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews