We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hamboy2012
Tadcaster, United Kingdom

Great location, but a bit jaded, the hotel not me!

Review of The Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024
Great location and just fine laid on the patio overlooking the beach and bay. It’s just wonderful.

Hotel is a little tired and agree breakfast and staff are not great. Our room had been refurbished so ok.

Think it’s expensive for what it is but I guess the location just about justifies it.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 002
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 641
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 500
0.4 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 870
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 933
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 385
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 100
0.4 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 452
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 763
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 341
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 065
1.0 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 775
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 889
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 654
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 883
0.4 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 925
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 908
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 852
  • Priceline
    R 2 925
0.9 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 948
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 297
  • Vio.com
    R 2 792
0.7 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 458
  • Priceline
    R 1 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 835
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 172
0.7 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 457
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 450
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 212
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
R 2 888
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 888
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 889
  • Priceline
    R 2 888
1.3 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 345
  • Algotels
3.9 km from The Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (1 756)
Filter reviews
1 756 results
Traveller rating
899
426
233
105
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
899
426
233
105
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabana room cape town opposite the beach table mountain mountain view an upgrade a sea view room fabulous location our honeymoon hop on hop off bus sun loungers bars and restaurants south africa rand sunset sa uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1 756 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2024

The room was great value, staff were friendly - sometimes a bit slow.
Poolside area perfect for lounging with a glass of rose
Great location of the hotel on the main road of camps bay.
We used Langaro spa round the corner

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jtogan72631
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

The hotel gave us a room that was right next to the air conditioning compressor. You can imagine the noise as if you had a hairdryer lying on your bed.

Even the hotel staff confirmed that the noise was unacceptable. No new room, no apologies, no discount.

We didn't sleep a wink all night.

Finally there was no warm water in the shower the next day.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wtrept409000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, amazing views, perfect location and lovely rooms. Most of the staff were fantastic, but the breakfast supervisor could do with some retraining. Her staff were helpful when you could get their attention, they were lacking guidance! Instead of her strutting around perhaps if she guided her staff and helped the customers it would be better. One particular morning she showed us to our table, we tried to ask for 2 coffees and were told that someone would be with us. Then a few minutes later a young male guest came in, she showed him to his table and then served his 🫖 tea.
We were still waiting!
Also for a 5 star hotel you would expect a spoon and butter knife along with a knife and fork. On the table. To have to spread your toast with the knife you’ve used for your breakfast isn’t good. Also how do you eat a soft boiled egg with a knife and fork?
Apart from the poor breakfast service this hotel is fantastic. Would we stay again? Yes if they get the breakfast room sorted.

Room tip: Remember you have to pay for parking in their car park.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bernvines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2024

There are two positives about this hotel, the first is the location and the second is the wonderful team of staff. Other than that there’s not really much else positive to say. I’m sure it was a lovely hotel at one point but sadly it now needs a major amount of investment/refurbishment to bring it up to current day standards. The dining room is akin to a school canteen. The breakfast is mediocre at best. The pool areas are cramped and edges around the pools themselves are chipped and with missing tiles. It’s all a bit sad really given how fabulous this place should be given its great position. Approach with caution.

Room tip: Don’t expect too much and go out for breakfast. Make sure the hotel don’t want to move your room half way through your stay!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Do not stay here!!!

Woke every night to construction noise

Works smoking joints under our balcony

Dirty hotel

Room clean poor with nothing refilled - having to keep asking reception.

Couldn’t sit in balcony full of water which they didn’t clean and we looked out to a ton of rubbish !!!

Shocking and a waste of money!!!! Miss sold - this is more of a 2 star hotel!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews