We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”

The Hussar Grill Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Went with hubby on 2nd Feb 2015. Top class steaks. The chateaubriand was melt in your mouth. Great service, views and food. What more could you ask for?

Thank jim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Digital Customer Relations at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear jim98, Thank you so much for rating our Camps bay restaurant. Thank you too for choosing to ceebrate your anniversary with us! We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards, The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 018 - 1 022 of 1 911 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2015

During our stay in Camps Bay we wanted to have a good steak house dinner. Hussar came up as the best alternative on Tripadvisor and we got a table for the following evening. The restaurant was quite far away from the beach strip where we stayed so we took the car. A parking space was just opposite the road from the restaurant. A taxi wouldn’t have been too expensive either. When we entered we got a warm welcome and were shown the table. The place was bigger than we thought and was nicely decorated in a style you can expect from a steak restaurant of class. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable and gave us good advice on the wine and food. We had chateaubriand and steaks of various sizes with different side dishes. It all tasted very well. It was so far our best dinner after 10 days in South Africa

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CeaseTheDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Digital Customer Relations at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear CeaseTheDay, Thank you for rating our Camps Bay grillroom. We are really happy that you enjoyed your Hussar Grill dining experience. Kindest regards, The Hussar Grill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Really old school, think dark interior with dark green walls and table cloths and plenty of old wood. We've been there plenty of times and it's really consistent. Everything from the butcher counter on arrival (nowhere better to pick up your braai'ing meat), through to the awesome bar/ waiting area...and then onto your table. Wherever you're seated (it's a pretty big restaurant) it's fantastic. The service and food is excellent. You have to go for the sirloin/ rib eye....cooked medium rare....and we promise you will not be disappointed. It's loud enough to be comfortable and relaxing without being annoying. Don't go if you want modern and light - this it aint! It is, however, THE best spot in town for a rainy, windy night!!

Thank Howzit_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Digital Customer Relations at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Howzit_CT, Thank you for rating our Camps Bay grillroom. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My wife and I visited this restaurant twice during our recent stay in Camps Bay. The first time it was unbelievably good - from the time we made our reservation right through to when we asked for the bill the level of service ( our waitress was Patricia) was as good as we have ever had in any restaurant. Normally we never go to a restaurant twice but we did and the second time was just as good. this is a busy restaurant so my recommendation would be to book to avoid disappointment. I have had many great steaks in South Africa - these were the best ever! Whilst steaks are their speciality there is also a good selection of other meat/ fish and an extensive wine list - all reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigTicket2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Digital Customer Relations at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear BigTicket2013, Thank you for rating The Hussar Grill Camps Bay. We cannot express just how happy reading your reciew has made us - thank you! Please do come again soon! Warm regards, The Hussar Grill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We have been to this restaurant several times! We have always had a positive experience! The steaks are amasing & the service very attentive, without being obtrusive! The last time we were there, the chef even came out to ask if our steaks were cooked to our liking! The restaurant looks a bit shabby from the outside, but please don't be put off by this! It is very warm & nicely decorated inside & you will not be disappointed with the food! Try the creamed spinach, which is the best! Food is plentiful as portions are excellent, so make sure you have an empty tummy! My partner & I will always go here when in Cape Town! It's an out & out winner & value for money, I don't think it can be beaten!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Digital Customer Relations at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Dear Mark S, Thank you so much for your continued support and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Camps Bay also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing