We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
_E4251IH

Charming hotel with a breathtaking ocian view

Review of Atholl House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Oct 2017via mobile
The rooms are beautifull and clean. Specialy recomended are the see view rooms. Friendly and helpfull staf
Good and generous breakfast , all products are fresh and made as your request.
The hotel is situated not far from the table mountain cable car.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fredatwork, General Manager at Atholl House, responded to this review
Responded 22 Oct 2017
Dear _E4251IH, we would like to take this opportunity and thank you for staying with us at Atholl House and leaving such a review for our House. The entire team puts lots of effort in the care of our guests and their wellbeing, thank you so much for appreciating your stay and wish to see you some time back again, The Atholl House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 7 200
R 5 760
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 097
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 200
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 995
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 913
  • Tripadvisor
    R 5 913
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 108
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 248
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 988
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 075
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 480
0.5 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 177
R 2 751
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 729
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 410
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 743
0.7 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 296
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 151
1.2 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 027
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 804
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 693
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 4 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 203
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 491
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 376
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Atholl House
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Camps Bay
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
345
19
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
345
19
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town guest house staff was very friendly and helpful amazing views delicious breakfast a wonderful stay personal touch minute drive ani atoll tine balcony ocean accommodation mountains guesthouse hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This place is wonderful.

Views are incredible, right over the mountains and the bays.

Location wise it's perfect, inbetween the city and the cape.

Rooms are absolutely beautiful, probably the best we've stayed in on the garden route.

Breakfast was fresh and varied each morning. Perfect coffee!

Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

I'd go back today if I could.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 17Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fredatwork, General Manager at Atholl House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Good day 17Boots, we have no words about your beautiful review and stay with us at Atholl House. We go out our way to make guests feel like home and help where help is needed to make their stay memorable and amazing. If you as guests are happy we are happy, each review is such a great gift to us. Thank you, your Atholl House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a 4 night stay, looked after beautifully by the team at Atholl House. From the perfectly clean and comfortable rooms to the fabulous home cooked breakfast we couldn't have expected any more. Camps Bay was perfect for our first visit to Cape Town and we hope to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fredatwork, General Manager at Atholl House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hello Clocktowerclaire, thank you for your review, we enjoyed you staying with us and wish to welcome you back one day. Thank you for the compliments made and let other travellers know what to expect when arriving with us at Atholl House. We see you soon, yours The Atholl House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My husband and I traveled with our 20 year old daughter. Both rooms were beautiful with both and ocean and coastal view. The beds were SUPER comfortable and the breakfasts were very very good. Our hostess who was also the breakfast chef always there to assist with dinner reservations or what ever we needed. The sherry and homemade cakes were a big hit as well! If I am ever back in Camps Bay I would stay there in a minute.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fredatwork, General Manager at Atholl House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Pam G, thank you for your review and compliments made to Atholl House and the entire Team. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us and that all in all you had a splendid stay. We love to spoil our guests with home made goodies and our services, hope to see you back, best The Atholl House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

On arrival we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff and were made to feel at home and not just another tourist. The pictures on the website do not do Atholl house any justice as our luxury room, view of the beach and sunsets were picture perfect. Any questions we had about Cape town and tourist attractions were answered by very knowledgeable staff. Tours, transport and evening dining was offered to be booked for us which made it very convenient for us tourists.
The atmosphere is tranquil and relaxing as what is needed on a holiday. A lovely freshly prepared breakfast and soothing background music awaits in the morning to get the perfect start to the day. Will DEFINITELY recommend Atholl House to friends and family for their stay in Cape Town and will be returning for our next trip to Cape Town.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne_ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2017

While I was having breakfast with my wife the personnel of the hotel entered into our room and stolen from us EUR 2,500; even if both wallets were in the locked safe. I have to mention that they have only stollen half of the amount that was in the wallets so that we didn't observe the missing money.The safe as you can see in the attached photos it's not fixed and can be taken out. Moreover at the arrival the tourists are "strongly recommended" to keep their valuable goods in the safe for the staying period. Unfortunately, on the departure day you won't find your valuable belongings anymore and eventually you won't have time to go the police because you have to catch your plane. Even if we spoke to the manager of the hotel by phone she didn't seem surprised, which made us thinking that it wasn't the first time that the tourists were robbed in her guest house. No personnel is during the night on the property. The safe is locked with a key and you have no guarantee that the personnel doesn't have a spare key.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertro2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fredatwork, General Manager at Atholl House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Robert,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We take alleged theft of guest property very seriously and sincerely apologize if this did not come across strongly enough. Despite the lack of forced entry into your safe (you had possession of the only key to the safe with you), we immediately proceeded with investigations. We also encouraged you to report this matter to the South African Police and where surprised when you chose not to. We hold a strong policy to have 24/7 Duty Mangers at the Guesthouse, we are sorry if this came not across to you as such. Our rooms get a daily service after our guest have left for their daily outings.
Crime is sadly prevalent worldwide and most hospitality establishments recommend that guests safe-guard their valuables in the in-room safes provided.
Sincerely,Katja
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews