We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Location for us with delightful owners on...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
1 review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bellville, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

astonange...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location for us with delightful owners on site.”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We needed to be near Tygervalley and this was a perfect location - only 5 mins away by car even in morning traffic with enough shopping areas also 5 mins away.

One of the three rooms advertised was being reffurbed so we had the other two rooms and one had an outside entrance. It is basically an old house with the old decor and furniture and some modern touches here and there. The rooms and bathrooms are modern though. There was an alarm system constantly in use to make it secure. Although it was too cold for us to make use of it, there was a lovely outdoor seating area.

Pros:
Location very close to where we needed to be
Security of property was good and onsite parking was secure
Really good shower in "main" bedroom
Spacious enough rooms
Ample closet space
Large communal areas
DSTV
Excellent wifi with enough band width for Skype and streaming
And best of all the owners Edwin and Marlene are the most gracious of hosts - really friendly and quick to attend to any problems or requests
Large fridge and freezer
Constant hot water

Cons
A lot of the cons relate to the fact that the house is somewhat old and "full" - Edwin is aware and changes are in the pipeline
The bathroom sink in the main bedroom doesn't work properly - going to be changed
There were no laundry facilities on site during our two week stay due to water rationing in Cape Town - couldn't be helped
The house is very cold - despite the unusual cold this June and July, it is not adequately heated in the communal areas but the beds have electric blankets
There are a lot of things in the communal areas and a result it gets quite dusty - Edwin is aware and changes are planned.


We had a lovely time overall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Hi Sonal, it was great hosting you guys, awesome to meet your family and thanks again for the privilege to share a well prepared dinner with you, thanks for the review, wrt the constructive criticism, we do realise that the house is "full" however most of our guests have complimented us on our collection of valuables/collectors items etc which they say adds to the character of the property making it more cosy. Having said this we are going to be renovating the communal areas as well to make it more simplistic. As we remind all our guests that because of the demand for more rooms we are currently renovating and due to this we have building material/rubble on site which adds to the dust however this will not be forever. Besides our own inspections we also rely on guests to bring to our attention any damages etc. Laundry facilities are offered however at an additional charge. Guests have previously used our tumble dryers continuously and when we received our electricity bill we put a stop to it. We have panel heaters attached to walls in the communal areas as well as in the bedrooms, safety guidelines do not encourage anything to be hung over or in front of the panels, besides the panels not able to function correctly it is also a safety hazard. Until next, safe travels :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;