We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dean y

wonderfully comfortable room, incredible staff, food was excellent too

Review of Old House Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Dec 2023
what an amazing place, so comfortable and really great staff, we loved it. opted for supper in the restaurant and it was superb, tasty lamb and great dessert. the location is just far enough off the road to not have traffic noise, and the decoration and comfort of the room was superb
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsolique Botes, Marketing at Old House Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Open plan lounge and kitchen
R 1 300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 188
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 122
  • Trip.com
    R 1 270
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 156
  • Priceline
    R 1 156
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 156
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
  • Vio.com
    R 1 094
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 290
  • Priceline
    R 1 290
  • Trip.com
    R 1 283
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 290
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
First impression
R 1 400
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 279
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 125
  • Trip.com
    R 1 406
0.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 490
  • Priceline
    R 1 490
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view White House Lodge on Main
R 650
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Old House Lodge
R 1 190
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 180
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 180
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 850
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 830
  • Expedia.com
    R 850
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 100
R 990
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 001
  • Agoda.com
    R 990
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023

Was very clean and staff was friendly always willing to assist.house is well located with secure parking.We forgot our handbag there and staff cobtacted us before we even new the bag was missing.enjoyed the stay

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charliemarais63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsolique Botes, Marketing at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We appreciate all feedback as this help is grow.
We are glad you had a good experience and hope to accomodate you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Thank you for the two staff members who served us. They were so very friendly, helpful and professional. The room and bed was comfortable but your pool was dirty and we were so very keen to swim. WE found the whole experience good value for money. Thank you, we will definitely sleep over again, should we pass that way.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank speter505112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsolique Botes, Marketing at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2023

Good day. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Sorry about the pool not being clean,we will surely be looking into this .

Hope you will be visiting us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023

The overall quality is poor. The staff is not capable to run a venue like the old house. It is ownerless and management is not existing. Across the road is a business that operates with noise from early hours in the morning (4:00). The Old house is oblivious of this with no excuse. If the country areas in South Africa is operating in this poor service manner they will not exist in the future.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Schalk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melanie Potgieter, Owner at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Good day
So sorry to hear about your bad experience. We were having personel problems for a while.
We hope to see you again that you can tell if there is any improvement .

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2023

We had a lovely time at the Old House Lodge. Friendly staff and great food. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stop there again on our way back to Johannesburg.

The friendly pet duck is a highlight. We will be back.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CAM-Heale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2023

Lovely old house - beautifully restored. We arrived very late and staff were amazing, kept us supper which was most welcome after a long days travelling. The property is so centrally located so very easy to find. Safe parking behind locked gate.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fi0naangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews