We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ssavad376292

A disappointing second stay at Old House Lodge

Review of Old House Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2021
We booked and paid almost 3 months in advance . We requested a specific room that we had stayed in previously . This was noted under "Special Requests" on the Booking.Com booking sheet . As I received no reply , I emailed my request for a second time on 16 November , 2021 . Once again , no reply . Om my arrival , I made my request known to the lady on duty . I was informed that on that very day , the room I had requested had been hired to a new client who had not yet arrived and had not even paid a deposit . I was informed that the room had been promised that day , and could not be changed . No effort was made to sort out my request . Obviously , existing clients who book and pay in advance have no value to this host . What a poor and stupid business decision .
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Open plan lounge and kitchen
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
First impression
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 385
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
pool and lounger area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 492
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 359
  • Booking.com
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 484
  • Booking.com
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 866
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 892
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2021

Thank you Michelle & Talita for your friendly service @ Merino Guest House on 16 Dec 2021. Beautiful house, excellent standard, will def see you again. Will also try and stay in The Old House next time. Keep up the standards and service, difficult to find these days. Keep well, Koltzow family

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Letitia2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2021

Old House Lodge has such a lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff! The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. Loved our visit from Jan Hendrik, the owners doggie!
The rooms were on the street and a little noisy with the trucks earlier in the evening, but this can't be helped and didn't take away from the comfort at all!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TRynners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2021

A fantastic overnight stop on our way from CT to KNP. Very friendly and helpful host(thank you Michelle!!) and the room was of top notch quality. Beautiful gardens and the most important aspect for us was the secure parking off street for our wehicle and trailer.Will definately stay there again when needed . Highly recommended .

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swarre737172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2021

I stayed at Old House Lodge for one night with a friend on our way back home from the west coast. We had a warm reception, and little Jan Hendrik (the little Pomeranian) is absolutely adorable! Old House Lodge has a very relaxed atmosphere and we were allowed to use their freezer and big fridge for some of our goods. I love the high ceilings and classic furniture. Can definitely recommend, good value for money

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarjanMiddeljans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2021

Lovely old house that has been modernised. Big room with large comfy bed.
Very pleasant private setting.
I will stay there again and recommend Old House Lodge to travellers passing through Beaufort West.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gsmith957693
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews