We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aim4Best

Review Accomodation experience

Review of Old House Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Jan 2020via mobile
We were directed to their” new “house three houses away without notice, even though we had booked as a family . Litter in the lawn , and an old window lying in the driveway. Bedroom very dark but comfortable , both windows open onto driveway . No possibility of natural light during the day at all without losing privacy. Somewhat overpriced.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 200
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 490
  • Priceline
    R 1 490
  • Vio.com
    R 1 471
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 780
  • eDreams
    R 780
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 290
  • Priceline
    R 1 290
  • Vio.com
    R 1 273
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 290
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 190
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family room
R 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 700
  • eDreams
    R 700
2.0 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 890
  • Priceline
    R 890
  • Agoda.com
    R 869
  • Expedia.com
    R 890
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Twin Suite
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 830
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 909
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020

I highly recommend staying at Old House Lodge. Very friendly and excellent service from the staff! The room had aircon, beautiful, clean, fresh percale linen and a very comfortable Queen size bed. The en-suite bathroom had a lovely big shower. We had dinner and breakfast which was outstanding! We were well rested and ready to tackle the rest of our journey to Cape Town. We would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nfaase402945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

I guess it serves the purpose of what it’s intended for and on par with the most of the other B&B’s in town. However, I have seen better establishments in the area. It’s relatively clean but the shower wasn’t hygienic. Try not to stay in the street side rooms (it’s only a few meters from the road). It was noisy - very busy route used by taxis especially over the holiday period. A last important aspect is that of vehicle security; I believe there were numerous incidents (not only at this facility) where guests vehicles were targeted during night time. Make sure to remove all valuables. On the up side it has airconditioning and the garden areas are nice to relax. I has a splash pool as well. Overall I’ll give it an average rating.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LouisAckermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Great place to stop over. Very neat and clean and had a great breakfast the following morning before leaving.
Town is suffering with a water shortage but the Old House Lodge is a little oasis.
Small swimming pool on property as well.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bmurra986495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2019

Oasis on our Roadtrip. Enjoyed the relaxing garden and ducks. Staff was helpful and friendly. Wi-Fi was working. We appreciate the hospitality and the decor in the Lodge. Will recommend your establishment.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jzyl906626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Once you are rated 4-star, don’t drop your standards! We travel a lot and have been at 3-star places that are better than this! Perhaps this place was something special at some stage, but the standard has dropped significantly. So don’t advertise it as a 4-start luxury place, when it’s not. Number 1 - make sure the rooms don’t smell of a broken sewage pipe before your guests arrive. Our room stank something awful, and our toilet was clogged. Number 2 - don’t be cheap on the small stuff. Give your guests some complimentary water, buy a cappuccino machine instead of sachets, don’t hang old run-down towels in the room. The room had poor shower heads. Layout of the room in terms of plugs and access to a mirror was awful. Overall, rooms are not luxury, so don’t say they are - it creates an expectation. And dinner - R180 is not worth the meal we got. Carpets are dirty. Windows are dirty. Parking is not secure and safe. Breakfast was cold, but not worry, there’s a microwave in the dining hall, so you can warm up your own food. No toaster. No extra milk for coffee. And reading all the other reviews on this lodge, a 4-star place should not get less than 4-star ratings. There are a lot of 1 and 2 star ratings, with some awful comments.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Iheidib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews