We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Edward A

Very clean and neat property. We stayed there in Sep 2019. Comfortable rooms.

Review of Old House Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2019
Very clean and neat rooms with great amenities.
Bar fridge, with tea/coffee, air-con, comfortable beds with quality linen.
Restaurant on site. Close to CBD.
Property does need some maintenance : pool not clean, gate not working, no ice, drains not working properly, Wifi was terrible.
Overall a good stay - well priced.
Interesting, that when you just arrive there, they want to charge you more than their advertised rate on Booking . com. This does not make sense, because if you book via Booking. com, they get a lower rate, and they then still pay commission. They should therefore welcome walk-ins at the same price as they advertise on the booking sites.
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Rather choose to stay in the main building where the pool and restaurant are.
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Open plan lounge and kitchen
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool and lounger area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 439
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 480
  • Hotels.com
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 863
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 827
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Friendly and effective. Excellent food. Spacious bathroom. Parking close to our room. Didn't have to carry luggage far or upstairs. Beautiful surroundings. Could help us at short notice with overnight accommodation.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeanetteferreiravj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2019

My stay at Old House Lodge was ok. The TV in my room wasn't working (Room 7) properly which is something that should have been checked prior to my arrival I'd say. The breakfast was good the next day though. Kudos to the staff who swiftly assisted me as my booking wasn't 100% sorted and they made the necessary calls to ensure that I was assisted and my booking confirmed in no time. Thank you.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fezilemachwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Good property and adequate for over night stay. Service is not that good. Place needs proper cleaning and they should as a minimum provide hand wash soap (they promise free toiletries but all that was available was a shower cap and hand cream). When I asked for hand wash soap, reception just said she cant help as they have run out. Dinner is convenient but average and over-priced for what you get (you certainly pay for the convenience). We got a good discounted rate on Hotels.com and therefor consider it as good value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 59kobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2019

Charming guest house for a stop over in the Karoo. Room was on the small side and a little dark even with the lights on. The position of the TV set was to high up and also could not be turned to face the bed on an angle.
Over all Michelle the Manager went out of her way to welcome us and even on the morning of us leaving we foud we had a flat tyre she went ahead and called Trend tyre to help, and they arrived within minutes, now this is service, thanks Michelle you a star

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMs787
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Beautiful place but noise from traffic affected our rest after an eight hour trip. Waited on arrival to enter premises as there was no one at reception. Service may improve as this venue is rated five star. Food and portion very good.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sunevhvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews