We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Navigator20116866680

Great place to stay at in Beaufort West

Review of Old House Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2019
Your kindness and warmth is very homely. Your staff is efficent and your rooms are super nice and clean. keep up the good work. Can we have the cereal back on the breakfast menu please. see you on my next visit soon.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 08 Mar 2019
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a great review , we glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit with us .
With you next visit there will certainly be cereal:)
Thank you for the feedback, making is always nice know what our guests prefer.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Open plan lounge and kitchen
R 1 300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 188
  • Vio.com
    R 1 137
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 176
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 750
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • Vio.com
    R 748
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 780
  • eDreams
    R 780
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 020
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 020
  • Agoda.com
    R 753
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 017
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 490
  • Priceline
    R 1 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 486
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 490
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 428
R 1 290
  • Priceline
    R 1 290
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 287
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 290
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view White House Lodge on Main
R 650
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 650
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
1.4 km from Old House Lodge
R 1 097
R 990
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 990
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 097
  • Agoda.com
    R 990
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 972
R 890
  • Priceline
    R 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 888
  • Hotels.com
    R 890
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

The lodge is very accommodating and friendly. We had to change our booking and that was no problem We arrived late because of problems on the road and cancelled our dinner and that was also good. When we arrived with our vehicle on a tow truck we were help with opening gates etc.. The next day (a Sunday) we got all the help to get somebody to get the vehicle fixed and back on the road. The lodge is clean and neat and the bed are comfortable. Breakfast was good and also no problem even though we did not planned to have breakfast. We can recommend it as a midway stop over. The front of desk staff are 5 star with the way they help and support and they are always friendly

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willemd497
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2019

I loved my room! It was beautifully decorated and soo clean and soo spacious . Would definitely go back there. Just a little bit more fruit for the fruit salad would be nice , but either than that it's a 10/10 for me.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacation47472030178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the excellent review. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay.Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

We stayed at Old House Lodge as an overnight stop en route from Durban to Stellenbosch. After a 13-hour drive, all we wanted was a refreshing shower. But there wasn't any water. Beaufort West has a critical water shortage, and there are about 6 hours a day where the municipality cuts the water. But we didn't have any at all for the whole time we were there. When we complained, we were just met with shrugs and a half-hearted "sorry." This is a four star guest house, advertised as "luxury." A hot shower is surely the bare minimum they can offer. They need to install tanks to back up the municipal water supply during water outages. Apart from that, the Lodge was very nice. Lovely rooms, off-street parking, wifi and airconditioning. The food was perfectly acceptable. But they are going to HAVE to sort something out about the water.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ZoeAndJohn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

This was OK fora basic overnight stop. Parking secure. Most staff very helpful. Not all customers will be happy with the dog having free run of the building, including our room when we opened the door!If they have bore hole water to put the garden sprinklers on why not redirect this for toilet flushing? The prospect of no toilet flushing& hand washing overnight is unacceptable & potentially dangerous. We advised management that one of us is vegetarian in advance, but there was no veggie food available so we had to go out to eat. The room was dark & dusty. Breakfast OK.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our guesthouse. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I'm deeply disappointed to read that we didn't have a vegetarian option for your wife.
I asked her herself during check in if there was anything specific she could suggest that she would like to have for dinner or breakfast although we did not offer a vegetarian menu for our guests we usually try to accommodate guests as much as possible.
The main house is on borehole water which is fed through a tank to the house. When the guesthouse is full, the tank runs empty quickly and takes a while to fill up.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

Generally, we enjoyed our stay at the lodge. However, more effort must be placed on cleaning the bathroom shower. Lots of "old" dirt was floating around when using the shower which was very unhygienic and definitely ruined my time in the shower. I always judge a place by the cleanliness of the toilet & bathrooms.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyage10632847099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our guesthouse. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the bathroom that needs updating. We pride ourselves on our guesthouse and services and apologize we didn't meet your expectations Thank you for visiting and I personally hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews