We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
boomkyker
Pretoria, South Africa

a Sleepover in Beaufort west

Review of Old House Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2019
Our party of 11 arrived at the Old House Lodge on Saturday afternoon .We were given our rooms ,and enjoyed the garden with cool fountain a splashpool.

Supper was reasonable ,though not remarkable in any way. Our rooms were clean but very dark and gloomy- one could not read at all. Our room was on the street and all night long traffic caused a disturbance- the air conditioner worked but made an awful noise ,and because the windows could not open we had to keep it on through the night ,since it was stifling warm.
Try not to sleep over in Beaufort west- there is a severe drought and due to water shedding one could not even flush toilets during the night. The wifi was free but very very slow .
Date of stay: January 2019
Room Tip: At al costs avoid the street facing rooms.
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jan 2019
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our guesthouse. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room and guesthouse that need updating.
We pride ourselves on our guesthouse and services and apologize we didn't meet your expectations
Thank you for visiting and I personally hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 156
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 156
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Open plan lounge and kitchen
R 1 300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 122
  • Trip.com
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 290
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 290
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 290
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 490
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 490
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
First impression
R 1 400
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 125
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 190
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 180
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 180
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 850
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 830
  • Expedia.com
    R 850
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 990
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 001
  • Agoda.com
    R 990
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 985
  • Agoda.com
    R 697
  • Expedia.com
    R 878
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
129
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Room neat. Comfortable for wheelchair. Need more coffee and tea. There was only enough for 1 serving for 2 people. The parking is safe. Aircon in room a super plus point. Garden beautiful in spite of water restrictions.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank soosth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Dear Danhauser,

Thank you taking the time to write such a great review, next time we hope to make it a 5.
It is such a blessing to have happy guests!
Thank you for the positive feedback, we will definitely make work of it.

Kind regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019

We stayed here for one evening as a stopover during our trip from Johannesburg to Paternoster. The room was massive and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the braai for dinner and the staff was very accommodating in adjusting pricing to meet my vegetarian need (I had delicious salad and roosterkoek!). Very friendly and hospitable staff.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carien_vd_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OH31Michelle, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Dear Carien,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. I will also pass along your kind words to our staff.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we welcome you back anytime!
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

A BIG THANKS to the Old House team for their helpfulness and understand during our recent stay in Beaufort West. We had car problems and the Old House team went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and as convenient as possible given the circumstances.
Thank you once again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marisataino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OH31Michelle, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Dear Marisa,
Wow! thank you for the excellent review. We are very happy to hear you and your husband arrived safely. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. I will make sure to pass along your wonderful words to our entire Old House Team!
Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

Very pleasant stay in Beaufort West, while travelling from Pretoria to Langebaan. We enjoyed the braai-setup for dinner and our daughter enjoyed the fountain and its ducks a lot. Lovely room with all you could need.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Mitzi, thank you very much for such great review!

We glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit with us .

Best wishes for 2019!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

We did appreciate the staff that would not allow any flexibility in the date of stay. Even though in advance we had an emergency that would allow us to stay they would not offer either another date and penalty. The only penalty was 100%! A little compassion would have earned then a guest for life. Now we will not be returning and would not recommend anyone else staying there.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Relax47025052311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue.

As per our terms and conditions you agreed on with TripAdvisor, full cancellation will apply for the booking made by you.

We were full booked and during peak season we are very strict with our cancellation policy. We offered alternative dates for the usage of the booking as we are flexible with this. We do take any emergencies in consideration and understand that this is things that is out of your control. Unfortunately we have terms and conditions in place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews