We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carien Spagnuolo
Johannesburg, South Africa

Best stopover after a long day of travelling

Review of Old House Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2019
We stayed here for one evening as a stopover during our trip from Johannesburg to Paternoster. The room was massive and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the braai for dinner and the staff was very accommodating in adjusting pricing to meet my vegetarian need (I had delicious salad and roosterkoek!). Very friendly and hospitable staff.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OH31Michelle, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Dear Carien,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. I will also pass along your kind words to our staff.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we welcome you back anytime!
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Open plan lounge and kitchen
R 1 300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 188
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 143
  • Vio.com
    R 1 137
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
R 1 423
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 750
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • Vio.com
    R 750
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 771
R 1 590
  • Priceline
    R 1 590
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 590
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 590
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 020
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 020
  • Agoda.com
    R 765
  • Expedia.com
    R 972
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 890
  • Priceline
    R 1 890
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 890
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view White House Lodge on Main
R 650
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 650
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
1.4 km from Old House Lodge
R 1 315
R 1 190
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 190
13.5 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 986
R 890
  • Priceline
    R 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 890
  • Hotels.com
    R 890
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 990
  • Priceline
    R 990
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 005
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 005
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

A BIG THANKS to the Old House team for their helpfulness and understand during our recent stay in Beaufort West. We had car problems and the Old House team went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and as convenient as possible given the circumstances.
Thank you once again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marisataino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OH31Michelle, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Dear Marisa,
Wow! thank you for the excellent review. We are very happy to hear you and your husband arrived safely. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had an enjoyable stay. I will make sure to pass along your wonderful words to our entire Old House Team!
Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon.
Kind Regards
Michelle Esterhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

Very pleasant stay in Beaufort West, while travelling from Pretoria to Langebaan. We enjoyed the braai-setup for dinner and our daughter enjoyed the fountain and its ducks a lot. Lovely room with all you could need.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Mitzi, thank you very much for such great review!

We glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit with us .

Best wishes for 2019!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

We did appreciate the staff that would not allow any flexibility in the date of stay. Even though in advance we had an emergency that would allow us to stay they would not offer either another date and penalty. The only penalty was 100%! A little compassion would have earned then a guest for life. Now we will not be returning and would not recommend anyone else staying there.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Relax47025052311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue.

As per our terms and conditions you agreed on with TripAdvisor, full cancellation will apply for the booking made by you.

We were full booked and during peak season we are very strict with our cancellation policy. We offered alternative dates for the usage of the booking as we are flexible with this. We do take any emergencies in consideration and understand that this is things that is out of your control. Unfortunately we have terms and conditions in place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Love staying at this guesthouse as part of our trip. Spacious rooms and beautiful decor. Staff is great and friendly. Great asking about dinner on WhatsApp as signal not great always when you drive down! Will book again next year!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Culture32087969753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad that you had a good experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Everything was perfect . No complaints . I can't find anything wrong . Breakfast was ferfect as well . Parking area were also very good and safe . So if I can give anyone advise . Do not hesitate to contact Old House Lodge

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nomad27216353648
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad that you had a good experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

We wish you and your family all the jingly, jolly joys of Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews