We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jose S
Great Brak River, South Africa

My first visit

Review of Old House Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jun 2018via mobile
At first my booking experience was not the most professional however because of their four star rating I let it slide. Accommodation was very neat and tidy, plumbing was definitely below par, both rooms that I booked had an issue.

Restaurant was very neat but that is where it ended. There was no menu therefore you had to eat what they had to offer, so you would think that they would make an effort with their “signature” dish as they had nothing else to concentrate on, they failed miserably.

When I was asked what I would like to drink you would assume that they would at-least keep a variety of beers seeing that this is a four star guesthouse, well no they kept cheap beers and wine for which they charged premium prices.

For the money I spent this was definitely not money given with a smile.

I have been and stayed but return I will never.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melanie P, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 01 Jul 2018
Greetings Jose – Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

I’m sorry that a full menu has not been given to you and your family, since we have a full delicious Karoo menu with starters, mains, dessert and something light for the kiddies.

Regarding our wine list unfortunately we keep the one’s that sell, although its highly appreciated if guests mention their preferences of items they want to see on the menu as well as the wine list. That way we also get a better idea of what our guests like.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Friendly Karoo Greetings
Michelle

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Open plan lounge and kitchen
R 1 300
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 104
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
0.2 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 750
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 780
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 780
1.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 020
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 918
  • Agoda.com
    R 720
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 490
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 490
7.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 476
R 1 290
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 290
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 290
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 290
10.9 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view White House Lodge on Main
R 650
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
1.4 km from Old House Lodge
R 1 100
R 990
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 005
  • Priceline
30.6 km from Old House Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ready for the hot Karoo Summer
R 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 890
  • Agoda.com
    R 869
  • Trip.com
2.3 km from Old House Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
83
34
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool guest house room was spacious comfortable stay lovely place safe parking value for money home from home service was excellent great stopover warm welcome michelle road supper bedding johannesburg journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We always enjoy our stay at this guesthouse. The room once again very neat, the bed and linen of good quality, the staff so professional and accommodating. We enjoyed sundowners in the well kept garden.
The breakfast was very special with the home made bread.

Room tip: Rooms 4, 6 & 7 are our favourites
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wena100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melanie P, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Wena,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is truly gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and for selecting Old House Lodge as your home away from home.

Friendly Karoo Greetings
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening at Old House Luxury Guesthouse. Warm and friendly - great service. A beautiful crisp clean and spacious room, and to top it all a dip in the pool for some very tired, hot and bothered kids. All in all a great place to rest and recharge for the next days’ travels. Will definitely stop by again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liesl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond , we look forward to your next visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This was our half way stop en route to Cape Town from East London.
We chose this venue and were most impressed with its location and despite it being just off a main road there was little or no traffic noise. The booking was handled most professionally and we were contacted along the way to enquire if we wanted supper on arrival. We chose to have supper at the Old House and were most impressed with the friendliness and the meal. We had a Lamb Pie and Karoo Lamb Chops all beautifully prepared and served. The wine selection could be slightly improved on. Breakfast was an absolute delight despite the toaster being on the blink. All the guests were impressed and a great atmosphere contributed to that. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff smartly attired, friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. A minor issue with what appeared to be a "soiled" top sheet was smartly and efficiently dealt with to our satisfaction. A King Size Bed makes such a difference. We shall most definitely stop over should we pass this way again.

Room tip: Try and stay in the main house to avoid the walk. It also has WiFi
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us
Hope your next stay is just around the corner .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Stayed over at the Old House Manor in a lovely clean room. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was most enjoyable. The best was the lovely rain that fell overnight in this very dry area. Nice garden and swimming pool for gueasts to enjoy.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 986johanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond , we look forward to your next visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Overnight there for one night on our way to West Coast....what a lovely place! Friendly staff great us and a big lovely room with aircon to welcome us...blissfully! Lovely grass and porch to sit and enjoy a cool beer. Free internet but the signal not that strong.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank retham2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OldHouse31, Manager at Old House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond , we look forward to your next visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews