We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
263
137
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
137
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town karoo lamb self catering stayed one night will visit again beautiful karoo long drive peace and quiet next morning wonderful stay swimming pool beautiful place late afternoon en route night stay clean rooms stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying over for just one night was a experience I would love to repeat at this beautiful Guest Farm in the Karoo - a real find for peace, tranquility, great hospitality, beautiful facilities and a very comfortable stay. It amazes me that in South Africa there are still these hidden gems that host you as if you are the most important person to have visited, and this is the way they treat all their guests. Rooms and cottages are beautifully appointed, did not try and restaurant but from our neighbours we heard only rave reports of the delicious evening meal and delightful breakfast. Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cynthiamorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cynthiamorton

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It will be lovely accommodating you again.

Trust to see you soon.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019

We were a group of 6 requiring 3 rooms and all of them were immaculate and very well kept. Ironically later in the evening we decided to converge into one room - the one in the middle of the other two - in order to play cards. Around 10 pm the lights all went out in that room although we still had power. It wasn’t until the next morning when we mentioned it to the managers that they told us that there was a switch outside and further down from our rooms. Despite the lighting issue we could not have had a more peaceful, scenic place to spend a night. Wish we could have stayed longer but our next destination and adventure awaited us

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nique20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear Nique20162016

Thank you for your review. It is always much appreciated.

We have managers on the premises 24 hours should any problems occur.

It would have been lovely to have been able to accommodate you longer...maybe next time.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

Friendly, best lamb shank ever, we will be back for sure. The reception was warm and friendly, we were given peronal attention. The rooms are large and stylishly furnished. Thsi was a business trip, but I now want to bring my family as well.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tour57174808022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2019

Dear Tour57174808022

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lamb and your stay with us.

We would love for you to bring your family and meet them as well.

Looking forward to your next stay.
Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

What a stunning oasis in the middle of nowhere. All of their animals were such a treat and the many wild tortoises were amazing to meet! Well worth the stop. We booked dinner and breakfast and were not disappointed by the good quality. We hadn't expected not to be able to grab lunch there but fortunately dinner was served early.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dream47377371674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2019

Dear Dream47377371674

Thank you very much for your review. It is always appreciated.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the meals.

Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019

The self catering cottages are charming, very well equipped - with two braai spots each, a lovely lawn and view of the olive groves. The swimming pool was a good end to the hot days The karoo peace is an amazing experience. We we were easily able to drive around the Karoo National Park and visit the museums in Beaufort West using the Olive Grove as a base.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2019

Dear Jill M

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. It is always appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews