We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
260
136
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
136
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town karoo lamb self catering will visit again stayed one night beautiful karoo long drive peace and quiet next morning beautiful place wonderful stay swimming pool late afternoon en route night stay clean rooms stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly, best lamb shank ever, we will be back for sure. The reception was warm and friendly, we were given peronal attention. The rooms are large and stylishly furnished. Thsi was a business trip, but I now want to bring my family as well.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tour57174808022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tour57174808022

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lamb and your stay with us.

We would love for you to bring your family and meet them as well.

Looking forward to your next stay.
Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a stunning oasis in the middle of nowhere. All of their animals were such a treat and the many wild tortoises were amazing to meet! Well worth the stop. We booked dinner and breakfast and were not disappointed by the good quality. We hadn't expected not to be able to grab lunch there but fortunately dinner was served early.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dream47377371674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dream47377371674

Thank you very much for your review. It is always appreciated.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the meals.

Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The self catering cottages are charming, very well equipped - with two braai spots each, a lovely lawn and view of the olive groves. The swimming pool was a good end to the hot days The karoo peace is an amazing experience. We we were easily able to drive around the Karoo National Park and visit the museums in Beaufort West using the Olive Grove as a base.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jill M

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. It is always appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our brief, 1-night stay at Olive Grove. Because we wanted to braai for our evening meal, we were graciously upgraded to a S/S cottage at no extra charge. The farm setting is beautiful & tranquil and the facilities are well-appointed, Reception staff were friendly & helpful. We'd certainly stay there there again if we were to travel in that direction. The only complaint that we have is that the shop had run out of 5 litre & 2 litre bottles of their farm-produced extra virgin olive oil :).

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NevilleJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NevilleJ21

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

We are glad to hear that you have such wonderful things to say regarding your stay.

Due to a very successful season all our 5L and 2L olive oil were sold out. Those are definitely our top sellers which our olive oil is concerned. Hopefully you will be lucky with your next stay.

We are looking forward to accommodating you with your next stay.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night during December at the Olive Grove Guest Farm and had a super time. The units are very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and they were very accommodating with our little Jack Russel Terrier which is always a bonus for us on our trips. There is just a small negative and that is there needs to be a bit of general maintenance carried out everywhere in the unit and outside. Besides this, we will most definitely revisit the Farm when in this area again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bruce F

Thank you very much for your beautiful review. It is much appreciated.

Regarding your maintenance feedback: We will definitely take note and be put in the maintenance program for 2019.

We are looking forward to seeing you and your Jack Russel Terrier again in the future.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews