We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
260
136
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
136
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town karoo lamb self catering will visit again stayed one night beautiful karoo long drive peace and quiet next morning beautiful place wonderful stay swimming pool late afternoon en route night stay clean rooms stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The self catering cottages are charming, very well equipped - with two braai spots each, a lovely lawn and view of the olive groves. The swimming pool was a good end to the hot days The karoo peace is an amazing experience. We we were easily able to drive around the Karoo National Park and visit the museums in Beaufort West using the Olive Grove as a base.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jill M

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. It is always appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our brief, 1-night stay at Olive Grove. Because we wanted to braai for our evening meal, we were graciously upgraded to a S/S cottage at no extra charge. The farm setting is beautiful & tranquil and the facilities are well-appointed, Reception staff were friendly & helpful. We'd certainly stay there there again if we were to travel in that direction. The only complaint that we have is that the shop had run out of 5 litre & 2 litre bottles of their farm-produced extra virgin olive oil :).

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NevilleJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NevilleJ21

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

We are glad to hear that you have such wonderful things to say regarding your stay.

Due to a very successful season all our 5L and 2L olive oil were sold out. Those are definitely our top sellers which our olive oil is concerned. Hopefully you will be lucky with your next stay.

We are looking forward to accommodating you with your next stay.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night during December at the Olive Grove Guest Farm and had a super time. The units are very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and they were very accommodating with our little Jack Russel Terrier which is always a bonus for us on our trips. There is just a small negative and that is there needs to be a bit of general maintenance carried out everywhere in the unit and outside. Besides this, we will most definitely revisit the Farm when in this area again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bruce F

Thank you very much for your beautiful review. It is much appreciated.

Regarding your maintenance feedback: We will definitely take note and be put in the maintenance program for 2019.

We are looking forward to seeing you and your Jack Russel Terrier again in the future.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights in December while attending a family wedding. Stunning setting, however we could not sit on the grass while enjoying a braai due to a severe ant problem. Unfortunately even though we used Tabard, the mosquitoes are also a problem which needs to be addressed.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RaeVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RaeVZ

Thank you very much for your review. It is always much appreciated.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the ants and mosquitoes. This will be noted and discussed.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chalet very well equipped although the seating could be more comfortable - luckily I had my own camping chair with me. Swimming pool a delight in that heat! A great base from which to explore the Karoo National Park. Small things which didn't impress - dog mess outside my back door, and the lamb shanks for dinner had to be sawed with a knife. Also couldn't work out why the chalets are called "mountain view" chalets - if I stood on tiptoes on the verandah, I could just see the tip of a koppie over the olive trees, otherwise not a mountain in sight! So my expectations were a bit disappointed right from arrival. But overall, I'd stay there again, just perhaps stick to self-catering.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzbird3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBoerdery, Manager at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Suzbird3571

Thank you very much for taking the time to giving us your feedback. It is always much appreciated.

We are sorry to hear about the few things that did not impress you. We will most definitely take note to do better next time.

The chalets got their description from about 20 years ago when it was build. The olive trees were just planted as well and therefore the "mountain view" were much clearer.

We are glad to hear that you still enjoyed your overall stay with us and looking forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Karoo Regards,
Dawina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews