We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 990
Expedia.com
R 1 100
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Julieb312559
Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Great Stop Over Option

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2016
We overnighted at this beautiful Olive Farm on our way back to Port Elizabeth from the Northern Cape.We chose a self catering option and arrived mid afternoon.Communication en route from OG was excellent.
Wood & firestarter was provided by them for our braai.
Recommend a walk along the Porcupine Trail on the farm - you will need good walking shoes & be prepared for some minor inclines.A stunning view of this lovely olive farm awaits you.
Also recommend you go to their shop & buy some of the olive products.
Later that night we experienced a waning moon with Venus just off to the left,Stunning night sky.
Although we did not eat in the cozy restaurant we highly recommend this place for a stay over/weekend,
Date of stay: September 2016
Room Tip: Self catering cottages on the upper terrace away from the reception area
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this review
Responded 04 Dec 2016
Dear Julieb312559

Thank you for your recent review, it is highly appreciated. Thank you for the detailed feedback, which I shared with the team in our review meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and I sincerely hope the next time you will have the opportunity to join us for a lovely Karoo dinner.

Regards
Ron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 360
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 224
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 224
30.8 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 190
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 160
  • Priceline
25.9 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 950
  • Tripadvisor
    R 950
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
30.6 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
32.5 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
First impression
Booking.com
R 1 356
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 123
  • Trip.com
31.5 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
R 988
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 702
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 020
31.0 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 490
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 452
  • Priceline
38.4 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 290
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 156
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 290
41.5 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 650
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
31.9 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Booking.com
R 850
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 826
  • Expedia.com
    R 850
33.0 km from Olive Grove Guest Farm
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beaufort West
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
338
170
23
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
170
23
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town karoo lamb self catering peace and quiet next morning braai facilities long drive stopover en route an oasis stay there again great karoo perfect place salad overnight stop road trip olives dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

What a lovely place. Ideal family accommodation in the heart of the Karoo. Units overlooking the olive grove and scrumptious meals which compliment your stay. Thank you Dawina and Mel for the great hospitality.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank webworx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear webworx2016

Thank you for your recent review, it is hugely appreciated.

Olive Grove really values the relationship we have with Web worx and look forward to an exciting 2017 together.

Thanks for the support in 2016!!!

Regards
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

What a gem. A really lovely stop over which I am sorry we could not change to a two night stay. Very comfortable rooms. Kitchen just the right size. Braai facilities in excellent order. Staff and owner very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Christine C

Thank you for your recent review, it is highly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Regards
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My husband and I did an overnight in June 2016 . Enjoyed walking around the farm before a warming drink followed by a well presented and delicious 3 course dinner. Menu suited us but do not remember being given a choice of main course which could have been problematic for some.Room was cosy and slept soundly.Set off early with the sunrise in our rear mirror, across the Karoo. Will definitely stay again.

Room tip: All the farm rooms faced out towards the Olive trees.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicholasSiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear NicholasSiggs

Thank you for your most recent review, it is highly appreciated. Being in the heart of the Central Karoo we offer a delicious 3 course, Karoo signature dinner.

Prior to arrival the Olive Grove Team contacts guests and it is here were one can request an alternative option should one wish to do so. I am however delighted that you enjoyed your meal, thanks again for the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Regards
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Beautiful setting on working olive farm. Comfortable, clean room with all necessary conveniences, microwave, kettle, etc. The olive bath products in the bathrooms were a nice touch and a good way to test some of the products before buying, unfortunately we left early in the morning before the shop opened or I would definitely have bought some. Quiet and peaceful. Not far from the N1, and although we weren't expecting the very long driveway to the homestead, the avenue of date palms made it worthwhile. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cindylief
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear cindylief

Thank you for your recent review, it is hugely appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Olive Grove.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Regards
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We had an amazing time at Olive Grove Guest Farm, they had everything we needed and the Chalets were picture perfect. Because it is freezing cold in the winter, I would recommend may be an extra blanket for the sleeper couch.
Will definitely recommend this accommodation to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank deirdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear deirdea

Thank you for your recent review, it is highly appreciated. We are delighted with your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Regards
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews