We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
87
71
17
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
71
17
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point cape town close to shops main road guest house nice guesthouse cafes and restaurants nice area regent street stay there again minute walk sea front free wifi camps bay stayed for nights balcony waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Location is excellent, shops & restaurants are a 2 minute walk, beach is 5. Beautiful view, clean rooms, all necessary facilities, very friendly and helpful staff! It really is the best place to stay in Cape Town and it instantly feels like a home away from home! Oh, and the ocean breeze provides the best sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank esemje175904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning P, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good day Emese,

Thank you for that great review and also thank you for spending 4 nights with us in February.
This sea-breeze really does relax a persons body and mind.

I am very happy to hear you received only the best service and enjoyed the facilities surrounding our beautiful property.

I can't wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights.

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Surely they can give good advice and help planning your stay if needed.

Small hotel and very quiet. Though not soundproof at all so if there had been any noise we would have heard it. Upstairs they have this "common minibar" where you can take drinks and pay as you check out which is nice allthough it's not cheap like they try to tell you.

No parking space at the hotel, but it was easy to find a place in the street (Rochester rd). At the noon it might be more cars parked in the streets than in the evening.

Good location. Sea Point is a nice area, you can easily walk from this hotel to the beach and also Regent road and Main road where there are many great restaurants. We walked back from the restaurants at dark and felt safe. Also you can get an Uber quickly here. It takes about 15 min to the centre or to the V&A Waterfront, or in the other direction Camps bay.

Room was small but nice. Bathroom was cleaned and the bed made everyday, but they did not change the towels or bed linen (which is fine for me, specially now with the water situation, but there was said that both would have been changed every 3rd day because of the water crisis) during our 5 nights. We stayed in the first floor room so there was no balcony but small terrace with walls. There was a safe in the room and a possibility to make coffee and tea.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning P, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good day Jenni,

Thank you for your review and also for pointing out how clean the staff kept your room over the 5 day stay you had with us. I remember that you had booked our last available room knowing that it was best suited for single travellers - but you told me that you needed a break from Johannesburg with your boyfriend - that was the reason for your visit to our beautiful city.

You mention - "Small hotel and very quiet. Though not soundproof at all so if there had been any noise we would have heard it" - this is a bit of a conflicting sentence I would say - but I am glad that you enjoyed the peace and quiet even though the guesthouse was fully booked.

Upstairs we have a Large Honesty Bar which keeps the drinks nice and cold and is always fully stocked for our guests.
I must disagree with the fact that you mentioned our drinks are not cheap. At the V&A waterfront you pay R36.00 for a beer - At a local pub you pay R21.00 for a beer and from our honesty bar you pay R18.00 for a beer, our soft drinks = R12.00 each, Water = R14.00 for a 500ml just to mention a few items from the honesty bar.

To shed light on the fact that your bed linen was not changed for the 5 days you were with us, was obviously because of the water restrictions Cape Town is going through (Although your bathroom towelling was changed twice in the 5 days you were with us).
I am very pleased to announce that it was said yesterday in our local news that Day Zero has been postponed indefinitely because the residents as well as the visitors to our beautiful city have all been doing their part in saving our most precious resource and we want to thank you and all our lovely guests that have stayed with us through this drought for your support in helping us save water.

Just to mention - our Large salt water pool is full and crystal clear - our showers and toilet facilities are functioning just fine and there is plenty of drinking water in the honesty bar.

I wish to welcome Lauri and yourself back to our lovely property in the near future and hopefully this time we can get you a nice room upstairs with a balcony and a sea-view.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Best location, excellent value for money in Cape Town. Would definitely stay here again or recommend. If you are looking for a personalised experience away from the hustle and bustle of a large hotel this is a great option.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 647deborahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning P, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good day Deborah,

Thank you for that great review.
You were an absolutely amazing guest to accommodate.
Thank you again for spending 11 nights with us over the Christmas and New Year period.
When you return to us in the future please contact us directly and we will make sure we get you an upstairs room with balcony for next time and possibly even talk about a return guest discount.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely property.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Shopping center and restaurant in walking distance, in a secure area. Nice balcony, nice swimming pool. Good parking. Big rooms, clean and well equipped. Pick up from airport.
No reception or contact person in the building.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacquesb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning P, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good day Jacques,

Thank you for your great review.
I am glad you were able to enjoy our Large crystal clear salt water pool which we try very hard to keep full and clean for our guests.
The owner of Villa Sunshine has in fact obtained legal permission to source water for our pool in order to keep it open through these hot months in Cape Town.
I am happy you also got to enjoy the advantages of all the facilities within walking distance from Villa Sunshine.

As to your point of there being no reception person? I am a little confused as it is mentioned to all guests who check in that the staff operate from 7am until 9pm daily hence why you have a full set of keys to the property so as to come and go as you please (the home away from home feeling)

If however you arrived on the late KLM flight which normally lands around 11pm in the evening you would have been sent the late check in procedure document which would have given you the security codes to enter the gate and front door.

I do however apologise that we were unable to tend to your needs after hours - unfortunately our reception is not open 24 hours a day.

I do hope you had a relaxing visit to Cape Town and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

lovely staff, warm welcome, cosy and clean rooms with sea view balconies. location in seapoint absolutely perfect with all facilities just a few meters away from the villa.
most lovely stay, we'll definitely be back at villa sunshine! the place to stay in cape town!
thank you for all your efforts

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 451marilynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning P, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good day Marilyn,

Thank you for that kind review.
And thank you for pointing out that we are nice and close to any and all facilities such as the Sea Point promenade. Shopping malls, Table mountain, Lions head, Camps Bay beach, Clifton beaches all of which are surrounding Villa Sunshine. We are very fortunate to be located right in the middle of the main attractions Cape Town has to offer.

I am glad you got to spend your vacation at Villa Sunshine over December holidays.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jarryd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews